Search Unity

1. If you have experience with import & exporting custom (.unitypackage) packages, please help complete a survey (open until May 15, 2024).
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

The programming community needs an attitude adjustment.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Galactic_Muffin, Feb 12, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Galactic_Muffin

Galactic_Muffin

I am relatively new to the programming community. For 7 years I was a digital artist developing 2d and 3D work for games, Virtual reality apps, Xbox360 and Microsoft products. I have always worked along side programmers and though some of them may have had social issues that I learned to accept and adapt to, I generally felt programmers were respectable, fun-loving, inspirational people. However I was not prepared for the level of immaturity that I would face in some of the programming community itself when I actually started getting into programming.

Simply from just browsing programming related discussion threads here and other places on the internet I literally couldn't stand how rude programmers are to fellow programmers, especially the ones who are just getting into programming. Maybe the community simply doesn't realize but many programmers just talk down to any questions that aren't to their programming standards and try to make people feel like idiots. During my 12 year digital art career I never encountered artists who treated other artists with as much disrespect as many programmers do; without even the slightest hesitation.