Search Unity

1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity 2D: How to set the camera (screen) and game width to be the same and scale properly?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by stalyan77, Jan 18, 2015.

1. stalyan77

stalyan77

First of all, i'm new to Unity scripting and my head is going to explode, so forgive and correct as you see fit any mistakes I made here. =)

I've been searching a lot and still get confused.
    My goal is changing the width of the main camera so it's at the same resolution than when playing fullscreen or hitting the Play button. Let's say I have a background of 512x256 which I want to be taken as reference for a full camera and screen resolution. I imported it as object set to 100 Pixels to Units (this would be 5.12 x 2.56 World units, right?). I have the main camera size at 1.28, which is half the height (256/2), so this should be right. Now the idea is the screen, editor and game resolution to be the same for the WIDTH.

But first, how to set the camera width properly so it encloses the 512 pixels of the background?. I've read this depends on the aspect ratio.

The aspect ratio is width divided by height, so in my example case:
    Aspect ratio = 512/256 = 2.

Then, what I do this this number?

camera.pixelWidth is read only, so I can't modify the width this way...

http://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Camera-rect.html
    it seems camera rect it's only used to show a portion of the screen (modifying only the viewport if i'm not mistaken), being the maxium x value 1, that would be the full width... so this won't allow me to increase and display the intended screen width size in the viewport, editor and game...

http://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Screen.SetResolution.html