Search Unity

1. If you have experience with import & exporting custom (.unitypackage) packages, please help complete a survey (open until May 15, 2024).
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

hand axe

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by Avenger84, Apr 20, 2015.

1. Avenger84

Avenger84

Hi guys just finished this axe asset as a part of my environment im working on in Unity. Any feedback would be great and also is this worth putting as an asset on the Unity store never sold anything on there before. The asset uses three 2048 maps Diffuse, Spec and Normal. And the Diffuse was hand painted.

zombie_rockstar likes this.
  2. theANMATOR2b

theANMATOR2b

What type of game are you working on Avenger84?
    3x2048 seems a little high in my opinion for one weapon, but I'm no expert on texture resolutions. I just came off a real-time RTS type game and the textures for the character were 2x2048 but I think they were reduced at run-time to 2x1024.
    Anyway the axe model looks good. I'd say the texture of the blade looks like wood. May want to make it more metal looking in color and specularity.
    Also the crack on the top of the blade near the shaft makes it look like it will break completely soon. May want to reduce the length and width of that crack so it doesn't look so brittle.
    The back of the axe blade is kind of plain. A simple pattern on it created with the studs on top of the handle would be a simple, nice enhancement.

As far as assets go, I'm of the opinion static assets are best sold in a set and for a moderate price. If I was going to attempt to sell this axe on the asset store I'd probably want to make a set of weapons and sell them together. Check other assets similar to yours and see how they have been done.