Search Unity

Need: Difficult Terrain for Ninja Camp Project

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by UnLogick, Nov 16, 2012.

1. UnLogick

UnLogick

Hey guys

Ninja camp is coming up and I've decided to try out a new concept for terrains. The base concept is that I'll have multiple triangular patches of heightmaps, with different orientation and make them blend together seamlessly.

Like this:
    $EarlyTerrain1.png

This will allow us to make steep surfaces without triangle stretching! It will also allow us to make cliff overhangs! It will not however allow us to make small details that doesn't match the heightmap concept.

It will also allow us to make planets, floating islands, like this:
    $EarlyPlanet1.png

However since I'm not an artist I need some help creating fantastic sample terrains. It gotta look good so I can get some backing among my colleagues to fully explore this. There are many pitfalls ahead but I'm hoping to fully explore the feasibility of this terrain angle during this ninja camp. And if it works out hopefully eventually get this into Unity as a proper feature. ;)

I would like two types of meshes:
    1. Detailed mesh of cliff side, riverbed, etc. - key features: steep slope + cliff overhang. :)
    2. Complete planet mesh. - key feature: round, please keep it roundish, not too steep and without overhangs! :)
    Please stay don't go above 1 million vertices. Its a tech demo not a streaming world demonstration. :)
    -I'd prefer if you only use 64k, but I don't want that to be a limiting factor.

Thanks,
    Joen Joensen

Attached Files:

Last edited: Nov 16, 2012
  2. ColossalDuck

ColossalDuck

YES PLEASE. Many videos of progress are now expected of you... I DEMAND THEM.

3. larsbertram1

larsbertram1

4. imaginaryhuman

imaginaryhuman

Not fair, I want ninja camp too!