Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Why NetworkServer.Spawn doesn't pass the ScriptableObject data in the GameObject to the client

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by quiet00903, Jul 25, 2017.

1. quiet00903

quiet00903

Hi, everyone. I'm learning the UNET from yesterday. Before using the UNET, I used the ScriptableObject to save data as assets in the game and I instantiated the GameObject which would read the data from the SO asset to show its appearance. However,when I want to use the UNET I meet the problem. When I start the game as a host then I instantiate the GameObject from the SO asset it works well. But when I use the NetworkServer to spawn these GameObject and I start the game from the client which only get the GameObject without appearance and its position seems to be not correct either. I'm new to the UNET and also new to the network, hope someone could give me some suggestion about the problem. Thanks in advance.

2. xVergilx

xVergilx

It should be working. Make sure that both client and server got the same SO instance.
    Without the code it's impossible to tell what's you're doing wrong.

3. quiet00903

quiet00903

Thanks for your reply! This is my ScriptableObject files.
    Code (CSharp):
    1. [CreateAssetMenu(menuName ="Building/Data")]
    2. public class BuildingData : ScriptableObject {
    3.     public string description;
    5.     [Header("Visual")]
    6.     public Sprite buildingSprite;
    7.     public string buildingSpriteName;
    8.     public int width;
    9.     public int height;
    10.     public GameObject buildingPrefab;
    11.     public GameObject tilePrefab;
    12.     public string buildingInfo;
    14.     [Header("Cost")]
    15.     public int moneyCost;
    16.     public int crystalCost;
    18.     [Header("CoolDown")]
    19.     public float coolDownTime;