Search Unity

Why does my pixel sprite appear differently in the Game view compared to the Scene view?

Discussion in '2D' started by PinkAnigav, Jun 21, 2017.

1. PinkAnigav

PinkAnigav

Hello, just a complete noob stressing over something probably worth nothing...

Please refer to this imgur link for my troubles http://imgur.com/a/KWRSq

First picture is my Camera setting (just default)

2nd : Scene view zoomed in

3rd: Game view zoomed in

Why does my guy look completely off in the Game view?

He doesn't even have the eyes anymore in the Game view...

I created the sprite in Paint.net at 64x128 pixels if it matters.

Please help me!! Thank you.

2. larku

larku

I assume this is due to 'Z fighting', that is all those elements are all at the same Z position, therefore the order they are being drawn will be somewhat random. Change the Z on each of the elements to ensure they are drawn in the correct order. Or better still, change the "Order in Layer" on the sprite renderer to get the order correct!

3. PinkAnigav

PinkAnigav

Thank you for your answer. I did make a separate layer for the characters and the eyes disappearing is no issue now, but what about the character looking poor in the Game view compared to the scene view?

4. larku

larku

You probably didn't need to create a layer, simply changing the order in the layer should suffice.

The difference in the game view vs scene view may be the active Quality Settings (Edit->Project Settings->Quality) check what's set for Texture Quality.

Or it may be that mipmaps enabled on the texture import settings for each of the textures. If so turn it off and see if that helps. ( https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/class-TextureImporter.html )

5. bgolus

bgolus

@larku is sending you in a bit in the wrong direction, the answer is a lot more simple.