Search Unity

What is the status of UNET? Worth using for new project?

Discussion in 'UNet' started by dberroa, Feb 7, 2017.

1. dberroa

dberroa

I'm working on a VR game that I want to have coop and single player for. I am getting close to the point where I want to implement networking. I was eyeing and watching tutorials on UNET but then I hear others state that UNET is broken and there are no updates from unity. My questions are:

Is UNET abandoned?
    Does host migration work?
    Is UNET able to handle long matches (30 mins to an hour)?
    Can a user rejoin an existing match if they get disconnected?
    Is it worth using UNET over Photon? I haven't looked into Photon but I hear it is the alternative.

Keep in mind that I've never done multiplayer games before, just single player. I'm looking for ease of use in being able to do what I need. The game is a VR first person game when you can pickup up objects and throw them physics based using touch controllers. Think kinda like "Job Simulator" or "I expect you to die" but multiplayer.

Thank you.

2. srylain

srylain

UNET isn't abandoned, it's just that there's minimal progress towards new features or bug fixes with each new build of Unity.
    No idea, but I believe it is something that's built into Unity.
    I was able to keep a game running for 3-4 hours once, but that was just with both players standing there sending maybe 2-3 packets a second.
    I'd assume so, no reason why you couldn't unless your game doesn't support drop-in/drop-out.
    No idea. I'm using UNET because it's built-in to Unity and allows for a player to be host (most other networking libraries require some sort of cloud-based server) since I'm only building a two player game and not an 8+ player multiplayer shooter. Just depends on what you want, UNET is pretty easy to get up and running but there are some things you'll have to workaround.

3. robochase

robochase

i'm making a multiplayer vr game myself with UNET.