Search Unity

VR and Non-VR in a two player game?

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by dinozombie, Nov 13, 2016.

1. dinozombie

dinozombie

Hello, I have very little experience in making games with unity. I was planning on making a simple two player game with one player on the keyboard and the other on the DK2. The first problem I ran into is the cameras. When I click run, the GAME tab only shows one camera. The second issue I encountered was with the DK2.
    When I used unity's vr controller asset (Has worked for me before), and clicked build and run, unity launches the game, but it doesn't get sent to the DK2. Any information you could provide me would be useful. Thanks!

Current Versions: DK2 runtime: 0.7
    Unity 5.4.1
    Things I've tried: Placing 2 Cameras in Scene
    Changing the Display # on the GAME tab

2. NickAtUnity

NickAtUnity

Unity Technologies

Make sure you go to the Player Settings and enable VR and ensure the Oculus SDK is added to the list. That is required for the engine to enable VR.

As for having one player not in VR, you can configure cameras to be specific to the HMD or main display. Look at the Target Eye property in the Inspector. You can set it to "None" which makes that camera render only to the main display. This way you can vary what renders for each player.

3. ippdev

ippdev

Hi @NickAtUnity . This thread is the closest I can find to my question and since a Unity tech is on it I an hopefully get a swift answer. I want my game to be optional VR. It needs two separate UI World Space cameras to make thew UI correct for the 16:9 standard build but the camera for the VR UI needs shifting back about 100 units. Second, when I build I want to test in standard mode and do a video of gameplay for the Oculus Store asset list but it always opens up the Oculus app. How do I make it so that when you start the game you can choose to run it in standard mode or VR..even if you have an HMD hooked up already?

4. NickAtUnity