1. Help us improve the editor usability and artist workflows. Join our discussion to provide your feedback.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We're looking for feedback on Unity Starter Kits! Let us know what you’d like.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We’re giving 2017.1 beta testers a chance to win t-shirts and a Nintendo Switch. Read more on the blog.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Unity 2017.1 beta is now available for download.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Unity 5.6 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Get further faster with the Unity Plus Accelerator Pack, free for new Unity Plus subscribers for a limited time. Click here for more details.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out all the fixes for 5.6 on the patch releases page.
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Learn how you'll soon be able to publish your games to China in four simple steps with Xiaomi. Sign up now for early access.
    Dismiss Notice

Visual Logic Editor (Antares VIZIO) : (video screens)

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Neodrop, Sep 1, 2010.

  1. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,357
    Work in progress. Sorry, but I can't say, when the Beta will be released.
     
  2. dhondon

    dhondon

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Posts:
    54
    This tool would make Unity 3D unbeatable. Perfect for noobs like me who cant script (yet). Fantastic work:) I'll buy this one when you release it.
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2010
  3. Dom

    Dom

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Posts:
    91
    Haha, nice Neo! You have too much time btw ;P
    It seems that you integrated some stuff from VT by separating logic and data flows - good choice ;)
    Is it heirarchical?
     
  4. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,357
    Sure, Dominique. I wish to implement all better ideas from Virtools, but in my point of view.
    Especially Custom Behaviours Blocks - containers for the logic branches (current working task).
    But I have too less time ;(

    And, yes. This Visual Scripts can be heirarchical ordered by user choose.
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2010
  5. fmarkus

    fmarkus

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Posts:
    156
    Dom, I can't seem to be able to access your blog anymore... Is it working?
     
  6. andre-ivankio

    andre-ivankio

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    32
    How can I apply for beta? Octane render engine made an interesting deal offering beta at a lower price than release to stimulate serious early adopters.
     
  7. tatoforever

    tatoforever

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Posts:
    2,830
    Nah, implementing custom building blocks is not a good idea. I would rather go for a "get access to all our components methods and fields" withing a graph. :p
     
  8. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,357
    Yes. We have it in our planes.

    Both of it. Fully featured access from Graph, but and a possibility to create and save and share your owns Logic Blocks and Logick branch containers.

    We wish to see our Editor like a live and self-developing Digital Universe
     
  9. elpierrot

    elpierrot

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Posts:
    52
    Hi neodrop,

    All of your work is very impressive man! I can only congrats you and be waiting for the beta release.
    As I'm still work more on virtools than on unity, your project could be very usefull to make a transition.

    Kind Regards to all old Virtools Users and lost friends from swapmeetforum!

    Pierre
     
  10. fmarkus

    fmarkus

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Posts:
    156
    I wish the special thing Unity has been working on for version 3.1 was this...
     
  11. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,357
    I know nothing about such planes and keep my work.
     
  12. fmarkus

    fmarkus

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Posts:
    156
    Well I hope you don't keep it too long, we all would love to use it! ;)
     
  13. bugo

    bugo

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Posts:
    68
    Same here man, and I know others too
     
  14. SimonAlkemade2

    SimonAlkemade2

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Posts:
    432
    when will a beta of vizio be released?
     
  15. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,357
    I plan to release it in december.
     
  16. fmarkus

    fmarkus

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Posts:
    156
    Yeah!!!
     
  17. box01

    box01

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Posts:
    62
    December suddenly feels so far away now, have to wait...
     
  18. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,357
    We almost ready to launch the Closed Beta Test. I hope, about one week to start.

    $CBTsoon.jpg
     
  19. Sammual

    Sammual

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Posts:
    176
    I can't wait to get a chance to play with it.
     
  20. Jingle-Fett

    Jingle-Fett

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Posts:
    501
    Me too...how are you deciding who's in the closed beta, if you don't mind me asking? (hint hint)
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2010
  21. fmarkus

    fmarkus

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Posts:
    156
    I have the same question :)
     
  22. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,357
    If I'll don't find a necessary amount of beta-testers, I will call you, guys. But, for closed B.T. it is more convenient for me, if my testers would speak russian for quick and clear communications.

    BTW, I plan to start Open Beta Test asap for all, who like to use my VIZIO. Please, be patient. ;)
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2010
  23. box01

    box01

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Posts:
    62
    being Patient ...... not .
     
  24. EmadGh

    EmadGh

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    144
  25. rahuxx

    rahuxx

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Posts:
    493
    i am a patient need medicine VIZIO
     
  26. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,357
    More than 200 Logick blocks added.

    $200LogickBlocks.jpg
     
  27. Lars-Steenhoff

    Lars-Steenhoff

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    1,069
    Cool! love it! this is going to be great ! this will be the best holiday present ever :) hoping for a early public beta!
     
  28. mrbdrm

    mrbdrm

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Posts:
    489
    we are waiting for public beta :)
    good luck
     
  29. fmarkus

    fmarkus

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Posts:
    156
    Looks great!
     
  30. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,357
    With VIZIO, you can Create your GUI right in Editor Mode!

    As you can see, the Play button is inactive, in this screenshot. ;)

    $gui_in_editor.jpg
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2010
  31. Jingle-Fett

    Jingle-Fett

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Posts:
    501
    *Jaw drops*
    This is awesome, the wait is torture :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2010
  32. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,357
    Internal External Web Help in VIZIO :

    $InternalWebBrowser.jpg

    $externalWebBrowser.jpg
     
  33. fmarkus

    fmarkus

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Posts:
    156
    The wait is unbearable...
     
  34. bugo

    bugo

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Posts:
    68
    Damn, this is looking good.
     
  35. mikesgames

    mikesgames

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Posts:
    1,072
    any chance of a demo???
     
  36. juan-jo

    juan-jo

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Posts:
    158
    I hope you count on me in for Open Beta.

    I'm Unity user as well as Quest3D.
    In my opinion Quest3D is an ideal implementation of the concept of graphic-visual programming.
    However, I think in Unity the same approach is not applicable. Quest3D is graphical programming from start to finish. The main view is the code graph, and there are some tools around.

    Unity instead imposes a strong structure (both in the IDE and conceptual) on the basis of object-oriented programming. So it is more convenient (and in fact is the only possible) the approach seems you have adopted (to edit scripts individually).
    Unfortunately this is not going to turn Unity into a pure graphical programming environment (as it is Quest3D) but will make it more enjoyable for those who think like me that today programming should be this way…
    (But is only an option… Dreamora, are you here…? ;)

    I like that you also decided to make additional improvements to the workflow of Unity (It's a bit sad that Unity does not include the design of the GUI in Editor Mode as standard…)
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2010
  37. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,357
    mikesgames [​IMG] : sure. We work as fast as we can, and we plan to launch Open Beta asap (I hope in December), but this project is very deep and wide for quick (I mean dirty) releasing.

    Juan.jo [​IMG] : I think, Virtools is much more powerfully than Q3D but Unity is the Best. And, you are little wrong - VIZIO is Completely Visual Environment, where you'll can create your application code from idea to the final release.
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2010
  38. juan-jo

    juan-jo

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Posts:
    158
    Hi Neodrop.

    I have not worked with Virtools, so can't tell you… With Quest3D I worked professionally for 7 years, and I had done very complex projects, with lots of scene management, hardware control (VR with gloves and goggles, pneumatic chairs, MIDI for interface with music controllers, etc…) and I've never needed to use the SDK to add nodes in C++.
    After several months with Unity and some years earlier programming in C++, my opinion is that Quest3D is much more productive, and more powerful in terms of communication with hardware, stereoscopic and general technical features. And certainly is not just a tool for prototyping or for artists. Is very low level, and can afford complex projects.

    With VIZIO Unity perhaps put up to Quest3D and Virtools in terms of productivity. Unity of course has many advantages and is more convenient for some projects (that's why I'm here obviously).

    It is good to read that VIZIO is autonomous, but I wonder how. In Quest3D is clear: Your code has a hierarchical structure that you design it from scratch, and there is an initial node that triggers the entire flow of the program. In VIZIO I've seen that you have the concept of activators, corresponding to the various events that call Unity objects or methods.

    That sounds like VIZIO assumes the compartmentalized mechanics Unity. I do not think that is bad. Instead, simply adapts to how Unity is, which, I think, is not capable of, not just a graphical programming system, but other than his own. For example (if you wanted) you could not write all the code in one file. Unity, by design, forces you to link separate scripts to objects.

    I have really want to see VIZIO working. It is also more beautiful than Quest3D ;)
     
  39. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,357
    Yes, I think so too. (I worked with Virtools 5 years.)

    You can easy control the Activators from one Vizio graph or make a Hierarchical chain manually and transferring control from one graph to another. May be I'll create a Visual Hierarchical Manager, but don't think to first release. Activators can be called by many ways - for example by direct call from your Main Vizio Graph.

    Nevertheless, I do not see any problem in object-oriented Unity system. 2.5 years with Unity and I have no troubles with Hierarchy. ;)
    I think - here must to be a two ways.
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2010
  40. Jingle-Fett

    Jingle-Fett

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Posts:
    501
    By the way Neodrop, I was talking to some friends about your Vizio and they mentioned another tool (which incidentally is also node-based) that also has the name Vizio. I was wondering if you knew about that since there could be copyright problems or whatever
     
  41. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,357
    Thanks for info, Jingle. I allways can rename the project in UniVizio for example. Or Antares.VIZIO
    The name is not my main pain ;)
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2010
  42. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,357
    Antares.VIZIO : Creating GUI right in Edit Mode
    Please, look it in HD mode ;)


     
  43. StephenL

    StephenL

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Posts:
    216
    That is awesome! I want it now! :D
     
  44. fmarkus

    fmarkus

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Posts:
    156
    Oh man.
     
  45. Jingle-Fett

    Jingle-Fett

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Posts:
    501
    I gotta say looking at the video the level of polish is impressive! I noticed in the video that when you select a node it seems to highlight all the child nodes. Those little details are the kind that make a huge difference! (I noticed other little details too of course)
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2010
  46. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,357
    Now, I have made a auto update of the GameView window at change of any parametres - just like in runtime.
    New video will be created soon.
     
  47. Pulov

    Pulov

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Posts:
    824
    Absolutely pro stuff!!. But as for seting the logic I see the nodes a magical thing, for the GUI editing I thing that would be more optimal a VisualBasic like form editor wich I believe would allow for faster results.
    Anyway, your tools interface is really polished an looks super pro.
     
  48. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,357
    The GUI editing just a by-effect of the VIZIO power ;)
    But, I will add some useful functionality for standart GUI methods. For example - windows docking, magnetics and so on. A bit later.
     
  49. okimoki

    okimoki

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    114
    This looks AWESOME!!!
    I want it since i suck at coding..
    please relese it asap! :)
     
  50. Neodrop

    Neodrop

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,357
    BTW, VIZIO is not a magic wand. You must have at least base knowledge about programming.