1. We're looking for feedback on Unity Starter Kits! Let us know what you’d like.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2017.2 beta is now available for download.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Unity 2017.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Introducing the Unity Essentials Packs! Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out all the fixes for 5.6 on the patch releases page.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Help us improve the editor usability and artist workflows. Join our discussion to provide your feedback.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity Shooter Engine 2.1 - Crossplatform version plus Documentation

Discussion in 'Made With Unity' started by _Slava, Nov 24, 2011.

  1. _Slava

    _Slava

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Posts:
    97
    ### EDIT: Current version is 2.4 - visit http://the3daction.com for details ###

    What is Shooter Engine?:

    • Shooter template system for Unity.
    • Very customizable FPS and sample TPS Player prefabs - you can change any setting you want.
    • Various types of AI - Enemies, Friends, NPC, Animals, Zombies... All AIs can use one of two types of pathfinding - Internal or A* Pathfinding by Aron Granberg.
    • You can build the levels, set different conditions to finish them, and then to load the levels from the main menu.
    • Intros (as Intro levels, or playing at level start or using Trigger script), Underwater system, Radar and many other features - visit my site for the full list of features.
    • It is crossplatform.

    What's new in 2.4:

    • Enhanced headbobbing for FPS Player - it can have movement along 3 axes and rotation around 3 axes (FPSCamera script).
    • TPS camera uses character animation when reloading, weapon switching, and when player damaged and damage animation is playing. First person camera target's position and rotation used for camera positioning. You can adjust it initial position and rotation for best result.
    • Enemy Respawns scripts were rewritten and optimized. Now array of different enemies can be assigned. At respawn time, a random enemy is selected from that array to respawn.
    • LevelStatus script now has 2 new parameters - "max enemies on the level" and "max friends on the level". Respawns paused, when this number reached, awaiting enemy killing or deactivating. Set to 0 to disable this feature.
    • Updated AI scripts. Now they have "Flee probability" parameter (0...1). If equal 1, AI always flee instead of attack. When AI flees, AI uses any suitable waypoint placed on the level for movement direction, instead of waypoints with his group name. "Panic" sound can be played when AI flees.
    • Radar now can be turned into navigation system (like Google Navigation). To make it work, Player must have NavMeshAgent or AIFollow script attached. To set/unset/change radar navigation target, Trigger script can be used.
    • Negative score (LevelStatus script). You can set negative score for any AI in CharacterDamage/DamageReciever scripts. When total amount reaches LevelStatus negative score threshold, game over screen shown.
    • Game Over screen. Used with negative score or when Player died and no more lives are left. GameStatus script has a setting for it.
    • Improved damage animations for AIs and TPS Player.
    • Improved PlayerSpeech script.
    • Many improvements and bugfixes in many other scripts.

    Also, all features of lastest version can be seen in this video:


    Webplayer Zombies Demos:

    Zombie Demo FPS

    Zombie Demo TPS

    Also, you can download Android versions of these demos on my site (from webplayer demo pages).

    [​IMG]

    Full list of features:
    http://the3daction.com/unity-shooter-engine/list-of-features
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2013
  2. Duskling

    Duskling

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Posts:
    1,197
    Jesus, looks great!

    I am going to test out the webplayer right away!

    EDIT:

    It's awesome, I would love to purchase this for some sort of project some day!
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2011
  3. UnleadedGames

    UnleadedGames

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Posts:
    241
    Can we get a video of your mobile tests please?
     
  4. _Slava

    _Slava

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Posts:
    97
    Here is the link:
    http://youtu.be/lL1Y31b3HG8

    This is just my first test on Android and the video is a little old - no enemies still here and locomotion player causes low frame rate. Maybe, I will make new video soon...

     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2011
  5. Maurice-Hoffman

    Maurice-Hoffman

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    170
    Hello Slava, it looks great but i have a question ? Can we do without the locomotion system for Player ? Maybe use the third person controller of the Angry bots demo. I am no fan of the locomotion system I want some more arcade feeling controls.

    Keep up the good work.
     
  6. elias_t

    elias_t

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Posts:
    957
    Wow! The Angry Orcs demo is great!

    Congratulations on the new release.
    It seems production-ready stable.
     
  7. UnleadedGames

    UnleadedGames

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Posts:
    241
    I have to agree with this, its really the only thing holding me back from purchase. Thank you for the mobile videos by the way! I'm not a fan of locomotion at all and as you even say its killing the frame-rate on mobile. So just like for the AI it would be nice to have the option to use it or not.
     
  8. _Slava

    _Slava

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Posts:
    97
    Yes, I plan to include non locomotion tps player - just it was not ready yet for 2.1. It takes more time then I expect. I'm already not fan of locomotion too, when it comes to mobiles)))
     
  9. ForceVFX

    ForceVFX

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Posts:
    417
    so I bought the package..first thing I noticed..the level shown, angry orcs third person..is not included with the package I just purchased from your website..also the front page of the documentation is of a level not included..?? I cannot seem to move the camera up and down with the TPS, I can with the FPS...

    am I missing something here??

    p-
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2011
  10. TehWut

    TehWut

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Posts:
    1,577
    Looks Awesome!! The Angry Orcs demo was great!
     
  11. bgivenb

    bgivenb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Posts:
    447
    I bought the earlier version, so I should be able to get the new version free, right?
     
  12. jin76

    jin76

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Posts:
    364
    Looks Great !
     
  13. _Slava

    _Slava

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Posts:
    97
    bgivenb - yes, if you bought it less then year ago.
    ForceVFX - Angry Orcs contains paid models. They were provided to me on condition I will not distribute them.
    All scripts are same as in 2.1 - only Angry Bots image camera effects were used and shaders. I can send you one additional script which controls these effects on player and ragdoll cameras, if you want.
    I did not understand yet - why tps camera can not be moved????
     
  14. ForceVFX

    ForceVFX

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Posts:
    417
    It's called bait and switch..showing potential customers one thing, and when they buy it..they recieve something different
    ..the scripts may be the same..but not all customers who buy this are just using and modifying the scripts, like me.
    something to think about...

    I have some free models of equal quality, converted from dts (old torque3D models..free license) maby we can help each other??

    I was just looking for two things...
    1). a solid game framework, and bullet marks,decals and blood splatters., now I have the code for both..its up to me to learn from and extend them..

    the default input settings are probably overwritten by the (new) game pad input scripts. i'll figure it out. or I'll just drop the soldier cam in.
    also you moved the locomotion package to plugins directory (so it compiles first), I am no longer able to add groups through the locomotion editor...no big deal. just curious why. I just moved it back.....

    and climbing is broke...I can not move away from the ladder once I started to climb..it's stuck in climb mode..trigger issue??
    again, just liitle things..

    p-
     
  15. megmaltese

    megmaltese

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Posts:
    1,940
    I don't know if it's a problem of your controller but the char gets stuck everywhere, at walls, objects, other characters, that's not nice.
     
  16. _Slava

    _Slava

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Posts:
    97
    ForceVFX - I will write on my site that this demo is not included in the pack. About models - ok, we can. I will send you the demo without old models.....
    about locomotion - it works for me, I have set up several models already. You have to put them back to Plugins when you will switch to mobile platform - just because my scripts in JS.
    about climbing - jump aborts climbing.

    megmaltese - I used standard Character Motor script. this script is just a collection of glitches. I'm thinking about it. I made 2 fixes already to it for 2.1 - to sliding and when character was stopped on box colliders.
     
  17. xenoblackinc

    xenoblackinc

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Posts:
    32
    i think the upgrades for the engine should be free for the customers who paid already. It's been over a year since i had the engine i dont like the fact that you want the customer to pay again for the upgrade. something has to be done about that. locomotion sucks for tps characters. we have to chat i have some marketing ideas for the u.s.e
     
  18. LawyerOfGod

    LawyerOfGod

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Posts:
    865
    very nice ..!
     
  19. RTshaders

    RTshaders

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Posts:
    57
    Looks awesome,keep up the good work!
     
  20. ForceVFX

    ForceVFX

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Posts:
    417
    SORRY, I did a fresh install, no problems..
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2011
  21. RoyS

    RoyS

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    586
    Is this written in C# or javascript? I'm thinking of adding inventory and crafting like in Fallout.
     
  22. _Slava

    _Slava

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Posts:
    97
    RoyS - in JS.

    I have found the code in Character Motor, which causes Player to stuck on the walls and other objects.
    I'm testing now other improvements in the player/AIs movements, and I will reupload the project soon.
    Anyway, if you use standard Character Motor, simple find this code:

    Code (csharp):
    1.  
    2.     var oldHVelocity : Vector3 = new Vector3(velocity.x, 0, velocity.z);
    3.     movement.velocity = (tr.position - lastPosition) / Time.deltaTime;
    4.     var newHVelocity : Vector3 = new Vector3(movement.velocity.x, 0, movement.velocity.z);
    5.    
    6.     // The CharacterController can be moved in unwanted directions when colliding with things.
    7.     // We want to prevent this from influencing the recorded velocity.
    8.     if (oldHVelocity == Vector3.zero) {
    9.         movement.velocity = new Vector3(0, movement.velocity.y, 0);
    10.     }
    11.     else {
    12.         var projectedNewVelocity : float = Vector3.Dot(newHVelocity, oldHVelocity) / oldHVelocity.sqrMagnitude;
    13.         movement.velocity = oldHVelocity * Mathf.Clamp01(projectedNewVelocity) + movement.velocity.y * Vector3.up;
    14.     }
    And remove to hell all lines, exept this one:

    Code (csharp):
    1.     movement.velocity = (tr.position - lastPosition) / Time.deltaTime;
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2011
  23. ForceVFX

    ForceVFX

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Posts:
    417
    I hope this is the place for customer feeback. The first thing, since I have worked on an earlier version.
    I have noticed you have moved your unity/js script to a much more class base architectecure. Kudos!!

    try using a trigger collider at the base of the ladder, trigger 'climb' state.
    and a 'topOfLadder' trigger at the top to go back to locomotion?

    I think thats why you moved locomotion to plugins,
    so you can use the overide "effect" value on arm IK.?
    thats leads me to a second point.

    your set up is 'left arm centric'. (rifle)

    I see you put the arm IK into a new class, at least now I can add both
    left arm (rifle aiming) and right arm (for pistol aiming) and adust the value of the effect in code at runtime.
    But on your intial TPS soldier setup, the Arm IK is set to left Shoulder, but the Head Look is set to the right hand...why?? (just curious)

    for next release would you consider in tps animation extending Tps Jumping just like you did with Tps animation.
    being able to add elemets based upon current weapon state. 0 jump no weapon / 1 jump w/ pistol / 2 jump w rifle.

    also adding a Tps Right Hand Class: (again, what about the good ol hand gun??)

    my two cents..
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2011
  24. phex

    phex

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Posts:
    725
    I´ve bought version 1.0 less than a year ago (my Download-ID is still working)

    Where can i download the update version ?
    I can not find it.

    Please PM me with details, purchase date was 22. December 2010.

    Edit: sorry, it was the 10th December.
    Tried to use my ID to download the update, but i can only download version 1.0 again.

    Edit2.0: Problem solved, thanks Slava.
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2011
  25. impheris

    impheris

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Posts:
    289
    download link to demo will be great... really, i hate webplayer demos jaja
     
  26. cloudfun

    cloudfun

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Posts:
    35
    hi slava
    im trying to do a very simple FPS level with use 2.1
    i made a scena very simple ad ir compiles and execute on my ipad
    the player shoots
    the ingame mobile menu works ok
    the right touchpad works ok

    but, the left mobile control looks like if doesnt work or i dont khow how configure cause
    im not able to walk, the controls activates, but
    how i must configure towalk?
    can you help me?
    thanks in advance
     
  27. _Slava

    _Slava

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Posts:
    97
    Hi cloudfun!

    Try to uncheck "use keyboard" in fpsanimation script. Or, maybe, movement joystick is not assigned. Also uncheck "use keyboard" in fpscamera script in your player prefab.
     
  28. cloudfun

    cloudfun

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Posts:
    35
    thanks a lot , it was the problem
    i uncheck both of them and it moves

    thanks again

    can i ask you when you think will be the new version without locomotion?
    i would like to do something on mobile platform , and you khow, locomotion is not good on that
     
  29. WillModelForFood

    WillModelForFood

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Posts:
    143
    You know what would make this project so much better? (Even though it's already amazing)

    A cover system. Procedural Gears of war / shadowgun / mgs type. I've started seeing Gameloft use nice basic cover systems on their mobile third person shooters and its really great. I think this project would attract a lot more buyers if you implemented it. I would kill for a cover system.
     
  30. cloudfun

    cloudfun

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Posts:
    35
    hi slava your page the3daction.com is closed.

    you moved? is something wrong?

    you forum or support is over?
     
  31. _Slava

    _Slava

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Posts:
    97
    I have uploaded new update - 2.2
    See new webplayers or download android demo .apk - http://the3daction.com/

    cloudfun - I need to pay for hosting every month, and sometimes I'm too late.
     
  32. lvampirel

    lvampirel

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Posts:
    24
    im trying to buy the pack with paypal but its not letting me.....
     
  33. SevenBits

    SevenBits

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Posts:
    1,956
    Looks really good!
     
  34. Venged

    Venged

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Posts:
    502
    This looks great. I am leaning towards buying it. how are the scripts? I might want to remove the locomotion stuff, but that is not a show stopper.

    Nice job!

    Venged
     
  35. SevenBits

    SevenBits

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Posts:
    1,956
    I have one concern, though. How adaptable is this script, I.e how easily can you add new guns, etc?
     
  36. _Slava

    _Slava

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Posts:
    97
    SevenBits - I made it expecially for this. I tried to make a simple customization of most things, wherever possible. players, weapons, enemies... plus you can adjust many settings in the scripts. This is my attempt to make a universal framework for shooters)

    Venged - I plan to remove a locomotion from the project soon.

    lvampirel - which error does it show? you can try 2Checkout, it works always fine, also you can find an option to pay with paypal on one of steps
     
  37. lvampirel

    lvampirel

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Posts:
    24
    i get this error

    Code (csharp):
    1. Paypal does not allow your country of residence to ship to the country you wish to
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2012
  38. SevenBits

    SevenBits

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Posts:
    1,956
    Could you perhaps record a tutorial video(s) then? That way I can see for myself.
     
  39. _Slava

    _Slava

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Posts:
    97
    SevenBits - one user has already some videotutorials done, I hope he will upload them soon - I will post the link here!

    Ivampirel - I do not know why. Which country are you from, just interesting...
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2012
  40. SevenBits

    SevenBits

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Posts:
    1,956
    Paypal, being a US company, unfortunately blocks access to people in some countries whom the US doesn't like.
     
  41. lvampirel

    lvampirel

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Posts:
    24
    weird, but paypal worked using the other pay method but not directly. but any who I just bought the engine its pretty good, but one thing i will like to ask is why is there a 10 download limit on there for a year when we are paying $65 for it? is it for the free license you give us or something for the engine? if not I would say to either lower the price if you are going to keep it or get rid of the limit. Just saying but overall big fan of the engine.
     
  42. huang

    huang

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    34
    i use the lastest version 2.2, build to flash got a error. how to fix it, please help me


    thanks
     
  43. Venged

    Venged

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Posts:
    502
    Does this kit work for PC platform also? I assumed it will but since only Android and iOS were mentioned, I thought I should ask before I purchase it.

    Thanks,
     
  44. elias_t

    elias_t

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Posts:
    957
    Yes of course it works on pc/mac. It started as such.

    I recomend this package. I am very pleased with it.
     
  45. huang

    huang

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    34
    anybody can tell me , how to fix the error, my version is 2.2, thanks!


     
  46. _Slava

    _Slava

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Posts:
    97
    huang - Plugins->Locomotion->CharacterControllerScripts. You can try to delete this folder (u.s.e. does not use these scripts). I think it helps
     
  47. huang

    huang

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    34
    some error still there too .please help me ,thanks!


     
  48. huang

    huang

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    34
    _Slava , Please give me some advice,thanks!
     
  49. _Slava

    _Slava

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Posts:
    97
    I see the compilation errors, but all these errors are not adressed to u.s.e. scripts, so I do not know why.
     
  50. A.n.g.e.l_666

    A.n.g.e.l_666

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Hi _Slava. Great pack! My name is Ivan. I'm newbie developer, (arcade games was my profile) and have some, maybe stupid, qestions about pack. I create new clean project and add your packadge. All layers and tags are tuned as described in readme. Demo scenes work flawlessly without any errors. After that, i import my own animated character on clear scene and set it up by PDF documentation step by step, all looks good exept one thing - when i rotate a camera in play mode, character weapons (from prefab) are rotating, but character arms (and upper body) are not.. All bones are placed as described in PDF... What i do wrong and how I can fix it? Can U please explane character setup system, coz in manual there are phrases like " add the script and set it parameters" and that's all..Thanks and good luck in development!

    P.S. I use a TPS control scheme.