Search Unity

Unity Freezes after Mistakes in Shaders

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by the_lemur, Oct 20, 2016.

1. the_lemur

the_lemur

I'm new to shaders and so I make a lot of mistakes -- which aren't even very obvious to me.. and when I switch from Visual Studio to Unity, Unity freezes up and won't let me do anything. No error messages are generated.

There is an _Extremely_ wide range of things I can do that will make this happen. Just recently, it was because I tried to give a variable within CGPROGRAM, but outside of any vertex shader, an intial assignment.

Apparently this isn't allowed, but there is no clear reason why, or any documentation on it. I've pretty much froze unity about 30 times since I started trying shaders.

2. the_lemur

the_lemur

Just to make it clear, I'm not saying I'm not making errors. I'm making them all over the place. The problem is that a huge variety of Shader coding errors cause Unity to freeze up, and I have to restart.

3. the_lemur

the_lemur

Also when I re-open the scene, my custom shaders (even the working ones I hadn't touched) are no longer assigned to the correct materials, and the materials aren't assigned to the objects. And yes I periodically Ctrl-S save scene so it's not that.

Sometimes the correct scene isn't even loaded, Camera view settings are back to old values, changes to project settings ( even very old changes ) are undone.

4. Invertex

Invertex

Don't treat shaders as if they are C#/Javascript code, shader code is very different and much more limited in what syntax sugar it has, such as initial assignment. Watch some tutorials on HLSL programming to understand what you can do. Unity isn't going to provide extensive documentation on shader programming, it already exists others places since it applies to all game engines. They merely provide documentation on the ShaderLab container they use and various Unity specific shaders extensions and such.

5. the_lemur

the_lemur