Search Unity

Unity C# 3.5 or 2.0? .NET, UnityScript, Mono, CLR, CIL and Assemblies explained!

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Cameron_SM, Jul 25, 2015.

1. Cameron_SM

Cameron_SM

I get questions about these things a lot from students or people new to Unity and C# and there's a lot of misinformation around on the forums, unity answers and even on stack-overflow about this so I though I'd create a thread to help demystify a few things. I think it's worth taking a few moments to understand what's happening with the code we write.

This is the story of the journey your code takes from being text in a file on your PC through to executing as machine instructions on a target device and the technologies involved in that process.

Disclaimer: I'm by no means an expert, if you think I have something wrong or can think of a clearer way to explain it please let me know and I'll edit this post accordingly.

C#, .NET, CLR, CIL what's it all mean?

Lets start with .NET (dot net). This is a software framework for building applications. It includes a large class library knows as the Framework Class Library (FCL) and language interoperability (the ability for 2 programs such as C# and C++ to interact) across several programming languages. Programs written for the .NET Framework execute in a software environment (as opposed to a hardware environment), known as the Common Language Runtime (CLR), an application virtual machine that provides services such as security, memory management, and exception handling. FCL and CLR together constitute the .NET Framework.