1. We're looking for feedback on Unity Starter Kits! Let us know what you’d like.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2017.2 beta is now available for download.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Unity 2017.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Introducing the Unity Essentials Packs! Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out all the fixes for 5.6 on the patch releases page.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Help us improve the editor usability and artist workflows. Join our discussion to provide your feedback.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity Analytics Heatmaps: Official Thread

Discussion in 'Unity Analytics' started by marc_tanenbaum, Sep 30, 2015.

  1. Zilppuri

    Zilppuri

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Now I am getting the data (it seems), but running into NullReferenceException in line
    if (!datum.ContainsKey("x") || !datum.ContainsKey("y"))

    in HeatmapAggregator.LoadStream()

    I added simple if (datum == null) { continue; } to get rid of it. But any idea if I'm doing something wrong here?
     
  2. ThornWoofie

    ThornWoofie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Hi all! Really looking forward to using heatmaps, but unfortunately our project just updated to Unity 5.6, and I get errors when trying to install the heatmaps package. The Unity Analytics window does not appear either.

    The errors:

    "Assets/Editor/Heatmaps/Services/IonicGZip.cs(34,16): error CS0433: The imported type `Ionic.Zlib.GZipStream' is defined multiple times
    Assets/Editor/Heatmaps/Services/IonicGZip.cs(34,75): error CS0433: The imported type `Ionic.Zlib.CompressionMode' is defined multiple times"

    Is this because of 5.6 or am I doing something wrong?

    Thanks!
     
  3. Zilppuri

    Zilppuri

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Posts:
    4
  4. APalomo

    APalomo

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Posts:
    594
    That is available in the userInfo data set. It is only visible via Raw Data Export:
    https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/UnityAnalyticsRawDataExport.html

    It will contain a list of our automatically generated user ids and the ID you set, so you can join that data with any data set you want to analyze.
     
  5. marc_tanenbaum

    marc_tanenbaum

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Posts:
    291
    Hey all! Quick note that you can now turn on heatmaps yourself on your dashboard config page. And, during the month of May only, we're letting everyone – regardless of license – activate heatmaps! Once activated for a project, you get to keep it forever.

    Happy heatmapping!
     
    Mangatome likes this.
  6. RezaRous

    RezaRous

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Hi,

    I'm currently using heatmap for a project in which I want to save the whereabouts of the user every second, but when I tried sending the data through heatmap, I got a lot of data loss, and sometimes nothing is being sent from one of the test devices. I gradually reduced the frequency from every second to every 10 seconds, more data are being sent but I still have data loss, sometimes up to 60%!
    Is this something common or am I doing something wrong?

    Cheers
     
  7. marc_tanenbaum

    marc_tanenbaum

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Posts:
    291
    Assuming no errors on your end, that's definitely a problem. If you've switched on heatmaps on the dashboard, you should be able to send an event/second with plenty of ceiling remaining. Recommend you file a support ticket, as the data loss would not be a heatmaps issue per se but rather a data issue with the Analytics service.
     
  8. Teila

    Teila

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Posts:
    5,671
    This is nice. I do have a question. Since our project is not ready for heat maps yet, but it will be in the near future, is there going to be an option for Unity Personal users to pay for the service? Will the only option be to go pro? It looks like a great service and even for additional cost it might be very useful.
     
  9. marc_tanenbaum

    marc_tanenbaum

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Posts:
    291
    @Teila Activate heatmaps for your project today. Once activated, you'll get to keep it going forward.

    My comment above indicates that we made this a special offer for May...but the truth is we've kept it going at least through the end of June. Once this offer is closed, though, the only way to get heatmaps will be through a Pro license...we don't charge for Analytics products separately. So whether your project is ready or not, just activate it (and maybe one or two spare projects for the future ;) ) to grandfather yourself in!
     
    Teila likes this.
  10. Teila

    Teila

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Posts:
    5,671
    Thanks, Marc! :)
     
  11. s-ta-c

    s-ta-c

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    Hello,

    Just for clarification, when personal users enable heatmaps, will they be able to use it for every project from now on, or just for the project that they turned it on?

    Best wishes.
     
  12. APalomo

    APalomo

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Posts:
    594
    Heatmaps is enabled on a per-project basis.
     
  13. MikeErty

    MikeErty

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Posts:
    17
    I've just enabled heatmaps in the dashboard and installed the SDK. But now I get a persistent pop-up telling me that "unity analytics is now integrated directly inside the unity engine. This requires a simple set of changes."
    I click on "How To Upgrade" and it takes me to the dashboard where, at the top, it says "Project not found." The project exists on the dashboard though, so I'm guessing there's some confusion.
    I'm not getting any errors in the editor but this pop-up won't go away (it reappears a few minutes after getting rid of it), any advice? Apologies if this has been answered but I couldn't find anything on it by searching.
     
  14. APalomo

    APalomo

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Posts:
    594
  15. Skalbe

    Skalbe

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Hi!
    How long does one usually have to wait for the sign up access?
    Also I`m confused about where the functionality gets cut off if I have not signed up. I integrated the SDK and following the steps on Bitbucket got the custom events working and some jobs even gathered my data and I downloaded it, but when I press `Process` on the Heatmapper, it first gave me warnings about no aggregation process results and then the same error as __Aadrian mentioned in the RawData line 386, where the `Result` variable was null.
    A bit later though it worked and is showing my data from some indiscernible test run perfectly which led me to think that perhaps the data just hadn't arrived yet. Can someone confirm that the warning and error described above would happen if the data simply wasn`t there yet?
    Also the interface is very ambiguous. What exactly IS a job? Do I have to create a new job for every data set I wish to record? Is a `job` supposed to be somehow set to be `running` during every test run? How do I tell the Heatmap window which downloaded data set to process? Does the Heatmap combine and display all downloaded data sets? Do I have to purge and reset everything to display the dataset I want one by one? How do I switch between my data sets in the heatmap?
    Pic for reference: http://imgur.com/OJU4Dm0

    Update: Now it`s showing me a warning in the editor that says: "No matching data found" when I try re-processing my re-downloaded data sets. What gives?
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2017
  16. puzzlekings

    puzzlekings

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Posts:
    320
    @Marc I signed up for heat maps for my current project, but the Raw Data Export tab is still greyed out in my analytics screen. Can you help at all please?

    thanks

    Nalin
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2017
  17. APalomo

    APalomo

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Posts:
    594
    @puzzlekings

    Enabling Heatmaps does not give access to the Raw Data Export feature in the dashboard. For non-Pro Subscribers all Raw Data must be requested and downloaded via the Raw Data window in the Heatmaps plugin.
     
  18. GloriaVictis

    GloriaVictis

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Posts:
    36
    Hello,

    I have issue with launching heatmap. I have already exported data and now trying to Process it but it gives me this warning:
    No manifest found
    UnityEngine.Debug:LogWarning(Object)
    UnityAnalytics.RawDataClient:GetFiles(UnityAnalyticsEventType[], DateTime, DateTime) (at Assets/Editor/Heatmaps/Services/RawDataClient.cs:249)
    UnityAnalyticsHeatmap.AggregationInspector:Fetch(AggregationHandler, Boolean) (at Assets/Editor/Heatmaps/Views/AggregationInspector.cs:214)
    Heatmapper:SystemProcess() (at Assets/Editor/Heatmaps/Views/Heatmapper.cs:151)
    Heatmapper:OnGUI() (at Assets/Editor/Heatmaps/Views/Heatmapper.cs:95)
    UnityEditor.DockArea:OnGUI()


    No matching data found.
    UnityEngine.Debug:LogWarning(Object)
    UnityAnalyticsHeatmap.AggregationInspector:processAggregation(List`1) (at Assets/Editor/Heatmaps/Views/AggregationInspector.cs:406)
    UnityAnalyticsHeatmap.AggregationInspector:Fetch(AggregationHandler, Boolean) (at Assets/Editor/Heatmaps/Views/AggregationInspector.cs:215)
    Heatmapper:SystemProcess() (at Assets/Editor/Heatmaps/Views/Heatmapper.cs:151)
    Heatmapper:OnGUI() (at Assets/Editor/Heatmaps/Views/Heatmapper.cs:95)
    UnityEditor.DockArea:OnGUI()

    My RawData folder includes only this:
    https://i.gyazo.com/67c778939a635f2c52dacc9fb3ef441e.png
     
  19. APalomo

    APalomo

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Posts:
    594
    @Skalbe

    Good news, we've gotten rid of the sign up process! You can just enable Heatmaps in your Dashboard, if you have a Pro Subscription.

    How long after you created the data did you try to download it? There is a bit of a delay between when you create the data and when it is available.

    A job is basically a request for Raw Data. You would only need to create a new job when you want to process a new data set. And the job must be complete before you can use it.

    Heatmaps will use the data from the dates you specify and the data set chosen in the Render options:
    heatmapper.png


    Hmm, I'll see if I can find out what this issue for this might be.
     
  20. APalomo

    APalomo

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Posts:
    594
    @Skalbe, @GloriaVictis

    I just spoke with one of the heatmaps engineers and it sounds like the Heatmapper is not looking in the correct location for the raw data.

    Would you be able to provide two screenshots:
    1. Your Heatmapper window (similar to the one in my last post)
    2. Your Raw Data window
     
  21. GloriaVictis

    GloriaVictis

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Posts:
    36
  22. puzzlekings

    puzzlekings

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Posts:
    320
    Thanks @APalomo

    I switched on the tab for heat maps in my project but I am not seeing any data when I go through the steps outlined here:

    https://bitbucket.org/Unity-Technologies/heatmaps

    "this can be confirmed by checking the validator window on your project's integration page from the Analytics dashboard." - not quite sure where this is?

    I am running this in the Editor though its not a dev build...

    Any ideas? (normal Analytics events are working)

    thanks

    Nalin

    BTW is this still free to sign up?

    [UPDATE ] - I can see the Heatmap events coming through now - think I had not set the API Key so I'll try again in a couple of days
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2017
  23. APalomo

    APalomo

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Posts:
    594
    @GloriaVictis,

    Yeah, it looks like your Raw Data is getting saved to a different folder.

    1. In the Raw Data window, copy the filepath from the Output Path field
    2. In the Heatmapper window, click the "Custom Path" checkbox and enter the filepath you copied

    That should make sure both systems are pointing to the same place.
     
  24. GloriaVictis

    GloriaVictis

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Posts:
    36
    Right, it works now. Noobed out ;)
     
  25. Shawn-Halwes

    Shawn-Halwes

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2013
    Posts:
    10
    I got my data rendering, but it appears the arrows are pointing in the opposite direction of the +Z axis when I record transform data.

    Is this the expected behavior?
     
  26. Shawn-Halwes

    Shawn-Halwes

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2013
    Posts:
    10
    Is there a way to save Heatmapper visualization settings?