1. We're looking for feedback on Unity Starter Kits! Let us know what you’d like.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2017.2 beta is now available for download.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Unity 2017.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Introducing the Unity Essentials Packs! Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out all the fixes for 5.6 on the patch releases page.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Help us improve the editor usability and artist workflows. Join our discussion to provide your feedback.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity 5.6 standard cloth component doesn't works???

Discussion in 'Physics' started by sunyifeng, Apr 7, 2017.

  1. sunyifeng

    sunyifeng

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Posts:
    23
    Does the new Unity 5.6 standard cloth component works ?
    I try with 3d plane mesh and either editor crash or hangs.
    Maybe it's my configuration's wrong ?How to get it working??
     
  2. sunyifeng

    sunyifeng

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Posts:
    23
    I saw the editor log, and the errors list below:
    [Physics.PhysX] Call to PxCloth::setExternalAcceleration() not allowed while simulation is running.

    (Filename: C:\buildslave\physx\build\Source\PhysX\src\buffering\ScbCloth.h Line: 595)

    [Physics.PhysX] Call to PxCloth::setExternalAcceleration() not allowed while simulation is running.

    (Filename: C:\buildslave\physx\build\Source\PhysX\src\buffering\ScbCloth.h Line: 595)

    [Physics.PhysX] Call to PxCloth::setCollisionSpheres() not allowed while simulation is running.

    (Filename: C:\buildslave\physx\build\Source\PhysX\src\buffering\ScbCloth.h Line: 359)

    [Physics.PhysX] Call to PxCloth::setTargetPose() not allowed while simulation is running.

    (Filename: C:\buildslave\physx\build\Source\PhysX\src\buffering\ScbCloth.h Line: 574)

    [Physics.PhysX] Call to PxCloth::setMotionConstraints() not allowed while simulation is running.

    (Filename: C:\buildslave\physx\build\Source\PhysX\src\buffering\ScbCloth.h Line: 246)

    Any help will be appreciated, thanks!!
     
  3. SaraCecilia

    SaraCecilia

    Product Community Manager Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Posts:
    673
    Hi, can you give me a callstack for the crash?
     
  4. sunyifeng

    sunyifeng

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Posts:
    23
    Hi SaraCecilia,

    I only has the error logs, because every time i click play, the editor just stuck. If i disable the cloth, everything is fine.
     
  5. sunyifeng

    sunyifeng

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Posts:
    23
    I want to know in what condition can cause the error:
    [Physics.PhysX] Call to PxCloth::setExternalAcceleration() not allowed while simulation is running.

    I have not changed the ExternalAcceleration in my script.
     
  6. sunyifeng

    sunyifeng

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Posts:
    23
    I made i small test, just create a 3d plane and add cloth component to it. If set the V Sync Count in the quality setting to Don't Sync. The editor will stuck when click the play button. If use Every V Blank. Everything is fine. The problem occurs just in unity 5.6.
     
  7. sunyifeng

    sunyifeng

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Posts:
    23
    I try the Unity 5.6.0p1 and the problem still happening, when i add cloth component to objects, the editor will crash or stuck. The crash files list below.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. SaraCecilia

    SaraCecilia

    Product Community Manager Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Posts:
    673
    Thank you! Would you be able to send me the simple repro project as well (where you create the 3d plane and add the cloth component to it)?
     
  9. alan-lawrance

    alan-lawrance

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Posts:
    128
    We have this issue as well (5.6.0p1) -- any known work-arounds besides disabling cloth?
     
  10. AFrisby

    AFrisby

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Posts:
    174
    Having the same issue.
     
  11. sunyifeng

    sunyifeng

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Posts:
    23
    Hi SaraCecilia,
    I have submited a bug report to you and attach my test clothing project. The address is:
    https://fogbugz.unity3d.com/default.asp?903692_mn6ciuq72aklosfj
     
    SaraCecilia likes this.
  12. Goldrake

    Goldrake

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    136
    i have the same issue too since beta 5.6.0 to 5.6.0p3
     
  13. sunyifeng

    sunyifeng

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Posts:
    23
    I finally find a solution to make the editor don't stuck. Change the Error log type from Script Only to Full in the Player Settings. And the cloth works fine when editor playing.
    upload_2017-5-5_21-9-19.png
     
  14. SaraCecilia

    SaraCecilia

    Product Community Manager Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Posts:
    673
    AFrisby likes this.
  15. AFrisby

    AFrisby

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Posts:
    174
    Haven't tested, but it is there.
    • (845868) - Physics: Fixed a crash that occurred while updating active skinned Meshes.
     
  16. Meutal

    Meutal

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Nope....still crashing....
     
  17. Errantsquire

    Errantsquire

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    Crashing for me as well, sometimes it does and other times it doesn't. It may be related to moving the camera while a cloth object is on scene. It may also be related to loading a scene with additive and destroying it while moving the camera in the first scene. The RTS that I'm building throws the player 1000 units below the world map for combat and sleeps the map while combat happens and then returns after it completes. The combat scene is loaded and unloaded each time.
     
    mattis89 likes this.
  18. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    144
    Is there anyfix ? did 5.6.1p1 solve it ? I still have this 5.6.0f3....

    i got this error (when I have log type error to be full (didnt work for me that fix)^^


    [Physics.PhysX] Call to PxCloth::setExternalAcceleration() not allowed while simulation is running.
    0x000000014179D92B (Unity) StackWalker::GetCurrentCallstack
    0x000000014179F5DF (Unity) StackWalker::ShowCallstack
    0x00000001417796A0 (Unity) GetStacktrace
    0x0000000140D3F23B (Unity) DebugStringToFile
    0x0000000140D3FA1C (Unity) DebugStringToFile
    0x0000000140A6C1D9 (Unity) ErrorStream::reportError
    0x0000000142145552 (Unity) physx::shdfnd::ErrorHandler::reportError
    0x00000001420ADF7B (Unity) physx::shdfnd::Foundation::errorImpl
    0x00000001420AE13D (Unity) physx::shdfnd::Foundation::error
    0x0000000141F6161E (Unity) physx::Scb::Cloth::setExternalAcceleration
    0x0000000141F63012 (Unity) physx::NpCloth::setExternalAcceleration
    0x0000000140A081F5 (Unity) Unity::Cloth::LateUpdate
    0x0000000140AC47C6 (Unity) BaseBehaviourManager::CommonUpdate<LateBehaviourManager>
    0x0000000140AC489F (Unity) LateBehaviourManager::Update
    0x0000000140D74C6F (Unity) PlayerLoop
    0x000000014171983E (Unity) Application::UpdateScene
    0x0000000141719D9D (Unity) Application::EnterPlayMode
    0x0000000141722CBC (Unity) Application::SetIsPlaying
    0x0000000141723822 (Unity) Application::TickTimer
    0x00000001417EEA1C (Unity) CrashCallback
    0x00000001417F0664 (Unity) WinMain
    0x0000000141AD38E4 (Unity) strnlen
    0x00000000770759CD (kernel32) BaseThreadInitThunk
    0x00000000772AA561 (ntdll) RtlUserThreadStart




    this is really annoying... and it happens if I put an object there in scene with no relation to the cloth what so ever..
     
  19. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    144
    And I noticed that everytime I put a script on some object, unity get stuck. But if I have the same script on the object before I make curtains phycics it works. But thats F***ed because you often put new scripts so......hmm
     
  20. AFrisby

    AFrisby

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Posts:
    174
    You need to update to 5.6.2 - it was fixed in 5.6.1p1
     
  21. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    144
    Yep it seemed to fix it... but theres still the bug on the rigidbody component if you use interpolate