1. We've introduced thread tags, search within a thread and similar thread search. Read more here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Learn how you'll soon be able to publish your games to China in four simple steps with Xiaomi. Sign up now for early access.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Get further faster with the Unity Plus Accelerator Pack, free for new Unity Plus subscribers for a limited time. Click here for more details.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. We've released our first Timeline Experimental Preview, our new tool for creating cutscenes and more! To check it out click here.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Unity 5.5 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out all the fixes for 5.5 in patch releases 1 & 2.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Unity 5.6 beta is now available for download.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity 3.5.7 and iOS 7

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by AdbC99, Jun 12, 2013.

  1. AdbC99

    AdbC99

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Posts:
    51
    Does anyone know if Unity will be updating Unity 3.5.7 iPhone for iOS 7? $3000 worth of licenses and end of lined in 9 months couldn't believe it and it now looks like finally the licenses may no longer be usable without $1000 of upgrades, gulp
     
  2. Alexey

    Alexey

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,371
    what exactly do you need to be updated?
     
  3. andymads

    andymads

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Posts:
    1,148
    @Alexey, in 3.5.6 you fixed "ios6 compatibility" and other iOS6/iPhone5 related issues. Surely there will be similar changes needed when we get iOS7 and new devices?
     
  4. Alexey

    Alexey

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,371
    well, there were breaking changes in ios6 (if built with ios6 sdk). Currently i dont see any ;-) So, my point is - unless we get something to fix - we are in the dark 8) That's why i was asking - do you see smth that needs to be fixed, or are you just jumping in whining mood on 2nd day of beta availability ;-)
     
  5. andymads

    andymads

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Posts:
    1,148
    Does it sound like I'm whining?

    I want get the facts straight so I can advise my boss if we're going to have to shell out thousands of pounds for Unity 4.

    I'm not saying there's anything to fix. I have no idea. I never even look at betas. I'm too busy doing Unity projects.

    Ok, so what I really want to know is how long you will continue to do updates for Unity 3?
     
  6. Alexey

    Alexey

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,371
    come on, didnt you notice ";-)" in the end of my sentence? ;-)
    this! this was the question ;-)
    I believe we stopped supporting 3.5.x release. But, for me personally - i would be happy to look at whatever you find borken in ios7, and mind you - even ios6 fixes were trampoline only, so i can just fix it and post as sticky forum post or smth. But i need smth to look at - as a programmer i work with current dev version, not some 3.5.x ;-)
     
  7. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    18,524
    You're a nice guy Alexey but you totally S U C K at developer relations ;) <<
     
  8. Alexey

    Alexey

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,371
    sure, thats why unity chains me to code-editor/compiler and not to forums/users/whatever ;-)
     
  9. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    18,524
  10. AdbC99

    AdbC99

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Posts:
    51
    Hi Alexey, really relieved that you have replied. I had just heard on other posts that Unity3d and Xcode 5 etc were not behaving together and so jumped in on the whining mood ;-) I'm in the same boat as andymads, I'm usually too frantically trying to scrape a living of apps to risk upgrading my machine to a beta.
     
  11. toto2003

    toto2003

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Posts:
    428
    i had to laugh on this post , that was my icon of the day ;););)
     
  12. jasonFHH

    jasonFHH

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Posts:
    21
    So any word on this? iOS 7 is more or less out, it seems more and more of the new assets posted to the Asset Store are Unity 4 only, and I'm beginning to worry that if I use Unity 3.5.7 to ship titles, that they may not work on iOS 7 and UT won't support it any longer. (last I read, UT was no longer doing updates for 3.5.x)
     
  13. kayy

    kayy

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Posts:
    38
    What about support of the new hardware? Is there any chance to get a patch for UnityEngine.iPhone.generation to detect iPhone 5c / 5S? I use this at start to adjust QualitySetttings and it would be hard to switch an 5s back to 30 FPS, small culling distances, ... :)
     
  14. CharlesBarros

    CharlesBarros

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Posts:
    39
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2013
  15. kayy

    kayy

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Posts:
    38
    @Charles
    Thanks a lot for sharing your plugin code. Definitely a good workaround if Unity does not supply a patch :)

    Maybe you should think about hosting it at GitHub or the Unify Community Wiki
     
  16. CharlesBarros

    CharlesBarros

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Posts:
    39
    Glad to know that you liked.
    Good ideia. I will post at Unity Comunity Wiki. :)

    In fact I prefer to use my code to identify the device because this way we do not have to wait for Unity update the list of devices. Mainly because sometimes we have to prepare our application to simultaneous launch with the new device (to receive Apple feature or to apply to special categories like "New games for iPhone5").

    And retrieve the device generation as a string is good for dynamic updates like AssetBundles or when you download cfg files form a server. This way we can update the quality settings without submit a new version of the app. This is not possible when you use an predefined types like enuns. :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2013
  17. Alexey

    Alexey

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,371
    just a heads up - in 4.something we added getter for device model as string (with native code access to it too).
     
  18. Lars-Steenhoff

    Lars-Steenhoff

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Alexey , would you make an official plugin for unity 3.5 ?
     
  19. Alexey

    Alexey

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,371
    what plugin? device detection? Charles' plugin have absolutely same native code as us, so you can use it right away.
    And props to Charles for doing proper string marshaling ;-)
     
  20. zezba9000

    zezba9000

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Posts:
    676
    This is why i'm glad they added in a subscription model. Makes more sense really, for an evolving product.
     
  21. kayy

    kayy

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Posts:
    38
    A plugin would be great including a fix for statusbar hiding (UIViewControllerBasedStatusBarAppearance) and the app icon problem. Yes, there are workarounds for most of the problems but adding the missing icons manually sounds like they get overwritten with each new build (haven't tried it out just speculating).
    And I am missing CMB+B ;-)
     
  22. CharlesBarros

    CharlesBarros

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Posts:
    39
    Thanks @Alexey.

    @kayy, following your suggestion I added the plugin to Unity3D Wiki. I also changed the c# code to make it better:
    http://wiki.unity3d.com/index.php/IPhoneDeviceModel
    About the new icon sizes, unfortunately when you rebuild the project the icon settings will be lost. But I will create a script to automate this process.

    For the statusbar I think that I will need to change some things on the Unity AppController. I will let you know if I succeed.
     
  23. Wolfos

    Wolfos

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Posts:
    690
    Except unless you're going to use Unity for only 6 months, the subscription is far more expensive, even if you upgrade every 2 years.
     
  24. kayy

    kayy

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Posts:
    38
    @Charles Very good, I will try out the new version next week.

    Statusbar: You need to set the property UIViewControllerBasedStatusBarAppearance to NO to your info.plist. I would refrain from modifying AppController.mm as Unity updates will kill your changes and you have to merge them.

    Alternatively you can set up a build pre-action in Xcode and call a bash script there. OK, this will be overwritten as well when replacing the project. But the advantage I see, is having just one single point of change at a well defined location. Last week I wrote a blog post about how to do this and other issues when going to iOS 7 - I mentioned your contribution as well :)
     
  25. CharlesBarros

    CharlesBarros

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Posts:
    39
    Wow, great blog post @kayy. It helped a lot in my current task. :)
     
  26. kayy

    kayy

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Posts:
    38
  27. andymads

    andymads

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Posts:
    1,148
    Ok Alexey, now I think we know what can be fixed in 3.5.7 for iOS 7.

    See this blog post for details.

    Oh, and if there's any chance the stdout/stderr bug mentioned here could be fixed too that would be great.
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2013
  28. stefstivala

    stefstivala

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    8
    that was informative helped a few of my issues, thanks for sharing