Search Unity

(stuck) Player collision to ignore edge collision

Discussion in '2D' started by x01kirbyx, Mar 21, 2017.

1. x01kirbyx

x01kirbyx

Hello, im new to working with 2D and struggling to work with colliders. my player (sort of) is acting as a collider and partly gets stopped when collided with the edge collider (Images shown below is where im being stopped). However, I want the player to ignore the edge collider so it doesnt get stopped but, i want the players (small box in middle of player) Box collider 2D script to collide with the edge collider so that prevents walking through the object. hope i made sense. Pictures attached.
    stuck 1.jpg stuck 2.jpg

2. webox

webox

I fail to understand your problem.. You say "you don't want the player to collide with the edge collider but you want the player to collide with the edge collider".. When you say the player you are reffering to the rest of the sprite outside the little box? As you present it, the only collider in the player is that little box, meaning that only that little box shouls collide with the edge collider.. Am I not understanding something?

Edit: I see your issue now, but I don't think you're doing anything wrong, it should work as you expect.. I'll try to recreate the problem in the morning..

Last edited: Mar 22, 2017
  3. x01kirbyx

x01kirbyx