Search Unity

Resolved [SOLVED] Multiplayer Networking LAN Won't Connect From Another PC

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Straynamic, May 11, 2017.

1. Straynamic

Straynamic

Hi everyone,
    I'm pretty new to the whole networking scene, but still trying to find my way.

So, I've been following the simple networking tutorial Unity has:
    https://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials/topics/multiplayer-networking

It works great and as intended on a single pc. I can control two players in different instances of the game. However, when I attempt to run the game on two different computers on the same network (wifi or grounded), it doesn't pick up the other.

Now, I've had this problem for quite some time, searched high and low on YouTube, and the forums. I've found similar problems, but have yet to find a solution. Any help in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Last edited: May 11, 2017
    MilenaRocha likes this.
  2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Your problem could be as simple as accidentally using 127.0.0.1 instead of the game host's IP address, or as complicated as having to go through your individual app firewall settings. Can't tell you more if all the information you're willing to provide is the fact it doesn't work.

peaceamit likes this.
  3. Mendys

Mendys

Im having the same problem, i tried with connecting to the server by the local IP adress (192.168... etc) it just wont work, i found some people talking about getting a UNET key or something bu the unity page corelated to that wont open for me :/

MilenaRocha likes this.
  4. Straynamic

Straynamic

Alright, sorry for being a bit vague before, Here's what I could gather so far:
    Attached is how I have my Network Manager set up. (Uses localhost and port 7777)
    I've allowed the app to run through my home network on both computers, through the firewall, and has even been disabled. No other firewall should be interfering.