Search Unity

[SOLVED] Can install unity in my home dir? (Linux build ubuntu)

Discussion in 'Linux' started by zebus, Oct 8, 2016.

  1. zebus

    zebus

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    Hi all.
    My / dont have free space. Can install unity .deb in my home dir?
    Thanks.
     
  2. Abexsoft

    Abexsoft

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Posts:
    1
  3. zebus

    zebus

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    This work for me:

    mini-howto install unity in my home dir:

    mkdir ~/.unity
    cd ~/.unity
    wget http://download.unity3d.com/download_unity/linux/unity-editor-5.5.0b5+20160927_amd64.deb
    sudo apt-get install alien
    sudo alien -tcv unity-editor-5.5.0b5+20160927_amd64.deb
    tar -zxvf unity-editor-5.5.0xb5Linux.tgz

    sudo chown $USER:$USER -R opt
    sudo chown root:root opt/Unity/Editor/chrome-sandbox
    sudo chmod 4755 opt/Unity/Editor/chrome-sandbox
    sudo ln -s ~/.unity/opt/Unity /opt/Unity
    sudo chmod 4755 /opt/Unity/Editor/chrome-sandbox

    In xfce or gnome or kde you can make a launcher point to: /opt/Unity/Editor/Unity
    And you can put the icon, are in: ~/.unity/opt/Unity/Editor/Data/Resources/UnityPlayerIcon.png
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2016
  4. zebus

    zebus

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Posts:
    3
  5. gabrielix

    gabrielix

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    I tried dpkg -i -root="HOME DIR", but it didnt work.
    So I used a little dirty trick to work around
    I create a folder where I want to install it (e.g. ~/Unity)
    and then I make a link where it is going to be installed
    $sudo ln -s -T ~/Unity /opt/Unity
    and then install it as usual:
    $sudo dpkg -i <UNITY.deb>
     
  6. Odd-Redesign

    Odd-Redesign

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Posts:
    134
    You can just download the unofficial install script (.sh) instead of the .deb file, place it in a folder you want and run it with sudo. At least that's what I'm doing on arch and I experience no real difference from the official version.

    You might have to create your own shortcut to the editor executable though.