Search Unity

  1. We're looking for feedback on Unity Starter Kits! Let us know what you’d like.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2017.2 beta is now available for download.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Unity 2017.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Introducing the Unity Essentials Packs! Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out all the fixes for 5.6 on the patch releases page.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Help us improve the editor usability and artist workflows. Join our discussion to provide your feedback.
    Dismiss Notice

Skyshop - Image-Based Lighting Tools

Discussion in 'Works In Progress' started by monkeyscience, Mar 9, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. monkeyscience

    monkeyscience

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Posts:
    705
    Oh! Yes that would do it. Skyshop comes bundled with a slightly newer version of Lightmapping Extended (straight from github). It is recommended you delete prior installs of LME from your project. I wish there was a clean, asset manager'y way to handle this. :(
     
  2. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    173
    Hello. Why no lightprobes in the example scene "mopedProbed"? $20130618-mydl-104kb.jpg
     
  3. monkeyscience

    monkeyscience

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Posts:
    705
    Interesting. What version and license of Unity are you running?
     
  4. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    173
    4.1.2 Pro
     
  5. Iamdain

    Iamdain

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Posts:
    88
    +1 for stripped down / optimized mobile shaders, any idea of time-frame for those MS?

    Would love to hear results of anyone running on mobile with current system too..
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2013
  6. monkeyscience

    monkeyscience

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Posts:
    705
    Hmmmm, not quite sure. I've tested on that very version of Unity. Maybe try rebaking the light-probes?
     
  7. SteveSexton

    SteveSexton

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Hey Guys,
    I've just come across a little glitch (perhaps) i was on IOS platform and i wasnt able to convert my HDR, so i had to switch back to pc/mac mode delete my original png and re import and then compute my hdr, and add it too my scene.. THEN jump back... just a note for those of you guys trying it...
     
  8. ironbelly

    ironbelly

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Posts:
    596
    Howdy.. First of all great plugin, it' smaking our scenes look amazing. There are a few glitches however that are giving us pause for concern. First of all we had an issue of our flashlight affecting an object but then not the floor that the object was sitting on. We think this might be because there was a spot light shining on the floor but not on this object and marmoset only lights having 1 light per surface but that is completely heresay, so I'd love to hear your thoughts as to why this would happen: http://screencast.com/t/Y92lO9fi2A

    The next issue is that with the Marmoset shaders on we are getting strange normals all over the place on some meshes.. turn Marmoset shaders off and the problems go away. No clue at all about this one but wondering if anyone else is experiencing this:
    http://screencast.com/t/DyX6dIjj
    http://screencast.com/t/4T2i9Il0
    http://screencast.com/t/0zcOnMFjCMi

    Again, the shader looks awesome, we so desperately want to use it to push the visual quality of our demos to another level,we just need to get through these issues first.

    Thanks!
     
  9. KRGraphics

    KRGraphics

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,638
    Are you running the game in deferred? And also your models with the normal errors, I would check your mesh...
     
  10. omarzonex

    omarzonex

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Posts:
    150
    wow fantastic monkeyscience
    very more nice reality
     
  11. ironbelly

    ironbelly

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Posts:
    596
    Yea, we're looking over the meshes it's just odd that these issues aren't showing up without marmoset.
    We are running the game in Deferred yep.
     
  12. kenshin

    kenshin

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Posts:
    910
    Seems that the new asset store version now works fine in deferred render. :)
     
  13. Frozan

    Frozan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Hey MonkeyScience!

    first of all i want to say this is amazing. really liking what skyshop has to offer for content. had a quick question about how you would go about adding grime or dirtying up of a pillar at the base?

    from what i can tell there isn't any support for a second UV set to overlay a texture of a dirty edge or anything of the such.

    haven't been able to test vertex paint on it as well but wanted to see if you had a preferred way to do it. thanks in advance and keep up the awesome!
     
  14. monkeyscience

    monkeyscience

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Posts:
    705
    Yeah, right now the shaders are all limited to one set of UVs so you'd have to include any dirt and grime in the base textures. You could alternately render transparent grime geometry over the base of the pillars. There have been other requests for a second UV set, I'm going to take a look at it when I get a chance.
     
  15. maart

    maart

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    67
    A second uv set or some tiling options would be awosome
     
  16. qholmes

    qholmes

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Posts:
    162
    Is there a refund policy? I am doing industrial building/room layouts and was wondering if it would be appropriate or be ok performance wise etc..

    Also wondering about a real life example. Like normal models that arent all textured up etc..

    Thanks

    Q
     
  17. omarzonex

    omarzonex

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Posts:
    150
    this my working PoliceCar Engine Marmoset Skyshop

    Awosome

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    Thank's monkeyscience very your Thank'z




    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 24, 2013
  18. monkeyscience

    monkeyscience

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Posts:
    705
    +1 to all of these.
     
  19. KRGraphics

    KRGraphics

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,638
    These are all awesome... Definitely +1
     
  20. lemures

    lemures

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    Not sure this where to make request for this plug-in, but some shaders that sample vertex color for lerping would be nice to see in the future.
     
  21. Fishman92

    Fishman92

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Posts:
    2,789
    So is there any chance this could be hooked up to a realtime reflection cubemap, so the lighting is dynamic, all the time?
     
  22. monkeyscience

    monkeyscience

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Posts:
    705
    At the moment no, the cubemap needs to be preprocessed for diffuse and various gloss levels of specular reflection; math that's too intense for real-time :-(.
     
  23. kurylo3d

    kurylo3d

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Posts:
    1,121
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2013
  24. artjobz

    artjobz

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    Is there any chance that at some point the cube maps generated by Sky Shop could be exported to .DDS files?
     
  25. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    173
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2013
  26. nipoco

    nipoco

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,955
    Please don't post links to that site here publicly!
     
  27. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    173
    Ooops. Sorry. I just wanted to help.
     
  28. nipoco

    nipoco

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,955
    You could send them a PM about that.
     
  29. rrasq

    rrasq

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    Hi guys.

    I need help, im trying to use a hdr file to make sky in skyshop... but all formats i had use are wrong... i have unity3d error: about texture wrong format RGBA4444.

    How i can conwert this to proper format or how i can make proper hdr file for skyshop???

    Thx for help.
     
  30. duncanx

    duncanx

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Posts:
    33
    Can this build the cubemaps at runtime or if not, can anyone recommend a plugin to do that and use along with skyshop?
     
  31. Strongholdbk

    Strongholdbk

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Posts:
    83
    You know what would be awesome? If you could add external lightmaps to this tool set. I would buy this all over again if it had that feature.
     
  32. juancarlos.nunez

    juancarlos.nunez

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Posts:
    1
    *problem solved
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2013
  33. 3d_Artist1987

    3d_Artist1987

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Posts:
    495
    hi,

    Any skin shader support with skyshop?

    Dev
     
  34. AlecMoody

    AlecMoody

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Posts:
    24
    This is 100% skyshop shaders:

    Once I get farther along with modelling I will bake lightmaps and get some nice directional lighting into the scene.

    $armco.jpg
     
  35. KRGraphics

    KRGraphics

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,638
    This is PRETTY AS HELL
     
  36. PFI_Viz

    PFI_Viz

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    what is the UI that flashes on the screen while you adjust the emmisive map intensity in the video. it looks really polished!
     
  37. wensk

    wensk

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Posts:
    23
    Hi, I used skyshop material in my scene, but everything looks not good if from beyond, how to solve it?
    $t3.jpg $t2.jpg
     
  38. lmbarns

    lmbarns

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,459
    I have an issue where all my marmoset shaders are black when applied in the editor. If I open the example scene it works fine, then when I go back to my original scene the shaders will show correctly. But the next time I open Unity they will be black again.

    Also had problems with black shaders in built game while they show normally in the editor. Do I have to move the folders around or something? I'm using 4.1.5 and 4.2
     
  39. monkeyscience

    monkeyscience

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Posts:
    705
    Shaders showing as black in the editor and then being fine when you switch scenes or select a sky are a normal occurrence. It is hard to get Unity to apply shader parameters in the editor sometimes. Easiest fix for this in Skyshop 1.04+ is Edit->Skyshop->Refresh Skies (or the Ctrl+R shortcut). This will force-refresh every sky in the scene.

    If shaders are showing black in game builds, you might be running into a non-supported shader issue (probably on Mobile). I've tried to automate the fallback of shaders to mobile shaders as much as I can, but you should be using all Marmoset/Mobile/ shaders on mobile platforms.

    There is also a mass conversion script for this now: "Edit->Skyshop->Convert Scene/Project to Mobile" and "to Standard" will convert them back to non-mobile ones.
     
  40. monkeyscience

    monkeyscience

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Posts:
    705
    What I think you are seeing is texture aliasing and is more of a general rendering issue than anything to do with Skyshop's shaders. Select each of your textures and look at them in the Texture Inspector. Make sure all textures are mipmapped and use bi- or trilinear filtering. This can even be a problem with high FXAA settings; there is a limit to what screen-space AA can fix.
     
  41. monkeyscience

    monkeyscience

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Posts:
    705
    Hey guys, I'm going to ask the mods to lock this thread. Please post issues and questions to:

    >> The Official Skyshop Product Thread <<

    It can be found in the Assets Asset Store section of the forums. This way we can have a single thread everyone can browse and learn from :). Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2013
  42. Thomas-Pasieka

    Thomas-Pasieka

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Posts:
    2,046
    This is now locked! Monkey business goes on in other thread.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.