Search Unity

Shader with arbitrary number of passes

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by TheAlchemist42, Apr 18, 2008.

1. TheAlchemist42

TheAlchemist42

Hi everyone. I am very very new to shader scripting, so please bear with me. I have a model that needs, at runtime, to have textures added to it.

Think of a human torso wearing a t-shirt. The user has buttons in the interface to change the shirt... for instance, it may be different colors, and/or a logo may be added and/or the sleeves may be different colors, etc.

I have found that I can write a shader that has multiple passes. The 1st is just the plain white t-shirt texture. Then the later passes are additive overlays to add in the other parts (which I have as 32 bit PNG files). This is the shader so far:

Code (csharp):
    2. Shader "Test Shader" {
    3.     Properties {
    4.         _Color ("Main Color", Color) = (1,1,1,1)
    5.         _MainTex ("Base (RGB)", 2D) = "white" {}
    6.         _OverlayTex1 ("Overlay1 (RGBA)", 2D) = "black" {}
    7.         _OverlayTex2 ("Overlay2 (RGBA)", 2D) = "black" {}
    8.         _BumpMap ("Bump (RGB) Illumin (A)", 2D) = "bump" {}
    9.     }
    11.     SubShader
    12.     {
    13.         Pass
    14.         {
    15.             Blend Off
    16.             SetTexture [_MainTex] { combine texture }
    17.         }
    19.         Pass
    20.         {
    21.             Blend SrcAlpha OneMinusSrcAlpha
    22.             SetTexture [_OverlayTex1] { combine texture }
    23.         }  
    25.         Pass
    26.         {
    27.             Blend SrcAlpha OneMinusSrcAlpha
    28.             SetTexture [_OverlayTex2] { combine texture }
    29.         }      
    30.     }
    31.     FallBack "Diffuse", 1
    32. }
    That is all fine as long as I want only 2 levels of overlays and I want to supply the blend textures in the editor.