Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

(Scaling 2d objects)Very confused by something very simple

Discussion in '2D' started by Thrazamund, Apr 14, 2017.

1. Thrazamund

Thrazamund

Hello friends, lvl 1 Unity noob here. I was hoping to get some help. I've been messing around in Unity and I've come upon a strange issue with scaling which I can't figure out or find information for. So, I created a background sprite in gimp and I drew it at 4096x4096 thinking it's always better to draw too big then scale down. I then brought it into my assets and set the sprite settings down to 2048x2048. I pulled it into my scene and it was huge(my camera is at 1280x720) but I figured that's no problem I will just scale it down using the Transform settings. I did until I got the size I liked and I thought that was it.

The issue came about when I added a boxcollider2d to it. It turns out that even though it's scaled down the boxcollider's size says it's way bigger than the world space it's taking up. The boxcollider fits the background perfectly and even if I change the gameobject's scale in the Transform to 100 or down to 0.5 the boxcollider always visually scales with it but if I look at the size of the boxcollider in the settings it's always corresponding to this original size of the image and does not change. I do not understand this behavior at all. This is causing an issue with my code where I was finding the width of the background's boxcollider so I could continue placing more backgrounds behind it, like an endless runner. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. Zephus

Zephus

You can just edit the BoxCollider2D. Not sure why you think you're stuck with the automatically generated one. There's an edit-button in the component.