Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Rhythm game: DSP Buffer File, Best latency or Best performance?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Itooh, Jan 7, 2017.

1. Itooh

Itooh

Hello!
    I'm a beginner with Unity, and my first project is a minimalist rhythm game. I have been able to make it work fine in the editor on Linux, and have recently built it for a first beta.
    Unfortunately, while the game was running well on Linux, I discovered that on Windows, it was having a nasty stuttering in audio! For game relying on music, that's not really cool.

So I switched to Windows to try to fix that, and discovered this:
    I had the audio settings "DSP Buffer File"set to Best Latency. Since I want it to be a quite precise game, it seemed logical at the time, and it actually made the game more reactive. But, on Windows, it was actually the cause of the audio stuttering! So I had to set it to "Good Latency" in order to have a pleasant sound.

However, now, the game has latency (it makes sense alright)! It's a short latency, only a fraction of second between player's input and game's reaction. So it doesn't make the game unplayable, but… it's not great either. For someone like me used to Rhythm Heaven, it feels really weird to push the button "in advance" to be in rhythm.
    Ironically, I still don't have any latency on Linux. Well, I guess I can now tell Windows users "Your OS might have more games but they don't run well!". :p

Anyway, that situation concerns me. It should be possible on Unity to have a game with very little (to none) latency, while still being able to play music. Right?
    I've tried several things. Like settings Load Type of audio assets to Streaming instead of Decompress on Load, but to no avail. I've also checked CPU usage, and it doesn't seem to be a problem at all.