Search Unity

Revealing a texture when you shine a spotlight on it

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by Yocal, Jun 26, 2017.

1. Yocal

Yocal

Hello,

I have a hidden message on a wall in a dim lit room, and I would like it to remain completely hidden until you shine a special spotlight on it. I am not quite sure how to achieve this, but I found this thread:

https://forum.unity3d.com/threads/reveal-texture-only-when-light-falls-on-it.26639/

Unfortunately I am not sure if this for some reason doesn't work anymore or I'm doing it completely wrong.

I have made a quad, a new material and added my sprite to the material using that shader. But nothing happens when I turn a spotlight to it.

I'm completely new to shaders, so I'm not even 10% sure what's actually going on... Any good hints?

Thanks.

2. BakeMyCake

BakeMyCake

The reason why it doesnt work is because it uses per vertex lighting. If you shine the light on one of the vertices, the hidden message will appear, but obviously with a quad there is a very limited amount of vertices to be hit by light. I worked on the same problem just the other week and here is what I've got:
    Code (CSharp):
    1.  Shader "Custom/UltravioletLight" {
    2.     Properties {
    3.       _MainTex ("Texture", 2D) = "white" {}
    4.     }
    5.     SubShader {
    6.       Tags {"Queue" = "Transparent" "RenderType"="Transparent" }
    7.       CGPROGRAM
    8.       #pragma surface surf Standard alpha:fade
    9.       struct Input {
    10.           float2 uv_MainTex;
    11.       };
    13.       sampler2D _MainTex;
    14.       void surf (Input IN, inout SurfaceOutputStandard o) {
    15.           fixed4 c = tex2D (_MainTex, IN.uv_MainTex) * fixed4(1,1,1,1);
    16.           o.Albedo = c.rgb;
    17.           o.Alpha = c.a * (1 - _LightColor0.a);
    18.       }
    19.       ENDCG
    20.     }
    21. }
    This isn't perfect, but hopefully it will help you get going. The way you use it is as follows: