Search Unity

"RenderTexture: Resolving a destination texture that is NULL." Error at Random

Discussion in 'Windows' started by ahofer, Jul 5, 2017.

  1. ahofer

    ahofer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    Hello All,

    We have an application that worked perfectly fine during development, but now (of course) out in the real world this issue seems to pop up randomly. At least once a day. First it will start with this:

    Code (log):
    1. d3d11: failed to create buffer (target 0x1 mode 1 size 1536) [0x887A0005]
    2. d3d11: failed to create buffer (target 0x2 mode 1 size 192) [0x887A0005]
    3. d3d11: attempt to lock null buffer
    4. d3d11: attempt to lock null buffer
    5. d3d11: attempt to lock null buffer
    6. d3d11: attempt to lock null buffer
    7. d3d11: attempt to lock null buffer
    8. d3d11: attempt to lock null buffer
    9. d3d11: attempt to lock null buffer
    10. d3d11: attempt to lock null buffer
    11. d3d11: attempt to lock null buffer
    12. d3d11: attempt to lock null buffer
    13. d3d11: attempt to lock null buffer
    14. d3d11: attempt to lock null buffer
    15. d3d11: attempt to lock null buffer
    16. d3d11: attempt to lock null buffer
    17. ...
    Then it will begin throwing this error over and over:
    Code (log):
    1. (Filename: C:\buildslave\unity\build\Runtime/GfxDevice/d3d11/TexturesD3D11.cpp Line: 496)
    2.  
    3. d3d11: failed to create 2D texture shader resource view id=331 [D3D error was 80070057]
    And then finally this over and over:
    Code (log):
    1. (Filename: C:\buildslave\unity\build\Runtime/GfxDevice/d3d11/GfxDeviceD3D11.cpp Line: 1629)
    2.  
    3. d3d11: attempt to lock null buffer
    4. d3d11: attempt to lock null buffer
    5. RenderTexture: Resolving a destination texture that is NULL.
    During this the screen either locks up or turns black, but the audio continues to play. We've tried updating the graphics drivers and installing an entirely new graphics card. I've seen this error described before around 2015 but nothing later than that. I am running Unity v. 5.6.0f3. The device it is running on is nowhere near me anymore so I'm finding this difficult to debug remotely. Hopefully someone else has seen this and knows of a fix.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,680
    Error 0x887A0005 means that the graphics driver crashed. What kind of device is it running on?
     
  3. ahofer

    ahofer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    It's running on an IDEUM Portrait Touch Kiosk:

    •Intel Core i7-6700K 4.2GHz processor
    • GTX 1070 8GB DDR5 NVIDIA graphics card
    • 512GB Micron M600 SSD
    • 16GB 2133MHz DDR4 RAM
    • Windows 10

    The build of Windows is a clean Pro edition install.
     
  4. ahofer

    ahofer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    Tautvydas-Zilys is there anything I can do to help debug this? It doesn't appear to be happening locally on my device here.
     
  5. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,680
    Do you know which graphics driver version it is running?
     
  6. ahofer

    ahofer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    They recently updated it a week or two ago, so it is at the current. 384.80 I believe.
     
  7. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,680
    Got it. A temporary workaround would be to force DirectX 9 using "-force-d3d9" command line, provided you're not using any DX11 features. I asked our graphics team to comment on this, though.
     
  8. ahofer

    ahofer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    Perfect I will have them try this, thanks! Also I look forward to the graphics team's insights!
     
  9. ahofer

    ahofer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    Hello!

    I passed along those recommendations and it does not seem to have helped. I have a call tomorrow with the Ideum team and was wondering if the graphics team have found anything or if I can provide them with anything else to help them?

    Thanks!
     
  10. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,680
    A person from our graphics team said that they were fixing some possible causes, but without a repro it's hard to be sure they're fixing the same issue.

    Do you know what kind of an effect did forcing d3d9 have? Do you have any logs from that?
     
  11. ahofer

    ahofer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    I have a call with them today and can ask them for the logs. Additionally would it be helpful for your team if I asked the client for permission to send you the build?
     
  12. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,680
    If you could do it as part of a bug report, that would be awesome.