1. Unity 5.6 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We've introduced thread tags, search within a thread and similar thread search. Read more here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Learn how you'll soon be able to publish your games to China in four simple steps with Xiaomi. Sign up now for early access.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Get further faster with the Unity Plus Accelerator Pack, free for new Unity Plus subscribers for a limited time. Click here for more details.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The launcher is currently pulling earlier versions of the content packages which may have errors, see post.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. We've released our first Timeline Experimental Preview, our new tool for creating cutscenes and more! To check it out click here.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out all the fixes for 5.5 in patch releases 1 & 2.
    Dismiss Notice

render to texture on IOS

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by Gigiwoo, Apr 23, 2011.

  1. Gigiwoo

    Gigiwoo

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Posts:
    2,900
    Heya,

    If you are trying to do effects like the full screen effects or post processing or the like, how do you do them on IOS (ipad or iphone)? The unity build process tells me that the ios cannot handle render to texture. Is there a way to get the results of a render process back and use that as input to the next step without doing a render to texture?

    I hope I am using the right terminology.

    Gigiwoo.
     
  2. Jessy

    Jessy

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Posts:
    7,327
    Are you using pre-Unity 3 Unity iPhone? The only reason you wouldn't be able to use them with the current version of Unity is that you don't have an iOS Pro license.
     
  3. Gigiwoo

    Gigiwoo

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Posts:
    2,900
    Heya,

    I have ios 3.3 pro + ios Pro - it was expensive, so I'm sure :). The issue was that when I started my posteffect, it was calling, 'CheckSupport(true)', which meant that the PostEffectBase.js class was checking that the ios supports DEPTH textures, which apparently it doesn't. Fortunately, I don't need a depth texture, so calling CheckSupport(false) got me much farther :).

    Gigiwoo.
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2011
  4. Malveka

    Malveka

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    143
    Gigiwoo, I'm uncertain from your post whether you're seeing issues in the editor or on the device. If it's in the editor, try changing the Edit->Graphics Emulation setting. Certain emulation settings may not support the effects you want to use. Also, have a look at this thread:

    http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/65382-iOS-Pro-and-Post-Processing-Effects

    Hope this helps.

    Mal