Search Unity

  1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

[Released] Easy Alphabet Arabic - Easy arabic support in unity

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by FayyadSufyan, Mar 5, 2016.

  1. FayyadSufyan

    FayyadSufyan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    Hello Unity developers!

    Easy Alphabet Arabic is a new tool that provides easy and powerful correction for Arabic language issues in Unity engine.
    As you know Unity does not support Right-To-Left languages. With Arabic being an RTL language many developers struggle when developing or localizing Arabic text inside Unity.
    The tool contains many features and optimized code, our functions execute in less than 0.5ms so that you experience less performance overheads and Garbage when you use those functions during gameplay.

    *A new version 3.0 has arrived with new features:
    - Exposed parts of the tool source code
    - RTL line wrapping correction
    - Full RichText API support (Unity and TextMesh Pro)
    - Extended support for TextMesh Pro
    - Mixed Arabic and non-Arabic text
    - Performance optimizations


    Demo videos








    Check it at the Asset Store:
    https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/#!/content/56625


    Supported languages:

    -Modern arabic
    -Persian
    -Urdu
    -Arabic Uyghur Language.
    -Arabic numerals ٠١٢٣٤٥٦٧٨٩
    and Persian ۰۱۲۳۴۵۶۷۸۹
    -Qura'anic symbols ﷻ ﷺ ﷹ ﷸ ﷷ ۖ ۢ ﷲ ﷱ ﷰ۩ ۝ ۞


    Partially supported languages:
    -Part of Sindhi alphabets: ٻ پ ٿ ٺ ڄ جھ ڃ چ ڇ ڀ ڍ ڌ ڦ ڻ ڱ ڳ ھ (unsupported: ٽ ڊ ڏ ڪ ڙ)
    -Part of Kurdish alphabets: ۆ گ ڤ ژ چ پ (unsupported ێ ڵ ڕ)
    -Part of Pashto alphabets: پ چ ډ ړ ژ ږ ې (unsupported ځ ۍ څ ڼ ښ ټ ګ)

    *Please note that some characters like ب ا و etc. is part of the above mentioned languages and i did not write them since they are already support as part of Arabic/Farsi alphabets.


    Online documentation:
    The latest PDF manual available here


    Screenshots:
    1-New UI system




    2-Text Mesh




    3-Old GUI (IMGUI)



    4-TextMesh Pro



    -Example of Urdu and Farsi text




    Best regards,
    Fayyad Sufyan
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2017
    AmmarSalim, pKallv and ikazrima like this.
  2. TechnicalArtist

    TechnicalArtist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Posts:
    736
    Can supprot Pashto language?
     
  3. FayyadSufyan

    FayyadSufyan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    Currently working on it. I will notify you when it is supported.
    Regards
     
  4. TechnicalArtist

    TechnicalArtist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Posts:
    736
    Thanks for reply
     
  5. vyanor

    vyanor

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Hello!


    For our project we need to know if your tool supports correct line wraps in the new Unity UI.
    If yes, does one have to specify the width of each UI element?
    Does it then return the formatted string?


    King regards
     
  6. FayyadSufyan

    FayyadSufyan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    Mr. Vyanor,
    Can you tell me exactly what you want to do? because i can't fully understand your questions.
     
  7. FayyadSufyan

    FayyadSufyan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    Hi everyone,
    Now in version 2.2 there is full support for Arabic Uyghur Language, and partial support for the following languages: Sindhi, Kurdish and Pashto.
     
  8. Jenta

    Jenta

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    Can Support rich text? if I Converted to currect Arabic text. the rich text format is still effect?
     
  9. FayyadSufyan

    FayyadSufyan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    Yes, the tool fully supports rich text.
    Sorry for late reply.
    Check below image:
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2017
  10. Jenta

    Jenta

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    if i use InputField component, How to convert user input arabic letters to the currect string?
     
  11. FayyadSufyan

    FayyadSufyan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    If you typed arabic directly into the InputField component your text will not be corrected, you have to type it into the tool first then copy the corrected text.
    Can you explain to me what you want to do with the InputField in your game so i can give you a workaround?
     
  12. Sufyan-Elahi

    Sufyan-Elahi

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Posts:
    7
    i am very happy to see this plugin. Can you upload demo of this plugin?
     
  13. FayyadSufyan

    FayyadSufyan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    Hi Mr. Elahi,
    There is no demo scene project but you can watch the video showcasing the tool.
    If you have any questions let me know.
    Regards
     
  14. Sufyan-Elahi

    Sufyan-Elahi

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Posts:
    7
    I am asking about online demo for your plugin. And the other things that i want to know about your plugin is that Whether its support Urdu fonts such as Nastaleeq Font and others?
     
  15. FayyadSufyan

    FayyadSufyan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    There is no online demo. The tool is an Editor Window that converts the incorrect arabic characters to their correct ones. So, after conversion you copy-paste the corrected text to your Unity components(Textmesh, Button, ...etc).
    Some customized fonts like Nastaleeq is not working properly inside Unity whether you are using the standard Unity components like TextMesh and UI elements or custom plugins like TextMesh PRO. This is Unity issue, my tool only converts characters to their appropriate forms, the rest is up to Unity engine to render it.
     
  16. cradiff

    cradiff

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Posts:
    66
    I meet the problem to display this text using EasyArabicCore.CorrectString (t, 2);

    Does any of you meet this issue?



    Thanks a lot,
    Phuc
     
  17. FayyadSufyan

    FayyadSufyan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    Hi Cradiff,
    It looks like some characters are reversed, this is the correct word: رایگان
    Ii will fix it right now and will email you the solution.
    The fix should be available for every one in next update.
     
  18. cradiff

    cradiff

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Posts:
    66
    Got the solution email. So nice to have this asset and the cool support. I am very appreciated your help. Thanks a lot
     
  19. Ezanal

    Ezanal

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    Greetings!

    Very neat plugin, but I have a question before attempting to purchase it:
    I see that you mentioned "full RichText support", but does it support richtext with word wrapping? because right now we are having issues with another arabic support pluging, where wrapped text has a messy html tags.

    Also, does it work with unity 4.6?

    Thanks for your answer in advance :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2017
  20. FayyadSufyan

    FayyadSufyan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    Hello Ezanal,

    Unfortunately the html tags with wrapping has issues with UGUI text components, but it works great with TextMesh Pro.
    So, If you want great Arabic text wrapping (with html tags) use TMPro with Unity 5.
    And regarding the 4.6 support, my tool works with Unity 4.6.2f and up.

    Regards
     
  21. DanarKayfi

    DanarKayfi

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Posts:
    72
    Hello Fayyad, Great Assets ^_^
    Question: is Kurdish now fully supported or still partially?

    Best
     
  22. highlyinteractive

    highlyinteractive

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Posts:
    116
    Hi Fayyad, thanks for this excellent asset, it's been really helpful.

    I do have a couple of problems which I hope you can help me solve. I don't speak or write Arabic myself, so if I'm mistaken please let me know:

    Problem 1. I'm having trouble displaying الماء correctly (Arabic for Water):

    Green is what my translator has sent me in a Word doc. Red underneath is what Unity is showing using your plugin with TextMeshPro (or even just in the gui of your fixer tool).

    Problem 2. I'm using EasyArabicCore.CorrectTextMeshPro with RTL turned on in TMPro. Unfortunately, this flips any numerals (I'm using european digits) which I understand should remain LTR. Same goes for special symbols like brackets.

    Is there a quick way to fix this, or will I need to do these manually.


    Thanks for your help
     
  23. FayyadSufyan

    FayyadSufyan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    Hi emsee,

    Thanks for using the tool.

    Problem1 is related to the font you are using and from a language syntax the red and green text (الماء) is the same.
    As for Problem2 i recently discovered it, and i just started working on a fix. We need to reverse every string/substring that does not fall into Arabic text range.

    Regards
     
  24. highlyinteractive

    highlyinteractive

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Posts:
    116
    Hi Fayyad,

    Thanks for your fast response. I'm sure I can handle problem 2 until your update is ready.

    Could you explain a further why my problem 1 is related to the font I'm using? I have tested the font (Muna-Regular - attached) in a web browser and in another application, and neither show the problem. I also tried one of your demos using the fonts you supplied and did see the problem:



    It definitely seems to be an issue in Unity rather than the font itself.

    It would be really helpful to get some more information about what is happening & if it's likely to be happening in other sections of arabic text that I haven't noticed.

    Thanks for your help with this
     

    Attached Files:

    • Muna.zip
      File size:
      69.8 KB
      Views:
      431
    AAAAAAAAAE likes this.
  25. highlyinteractive

    highlyinteractive

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Posts:
    116
    I'm actually having quite a few problems with ligatures. Here are some more (Unity in black):



    Are you able to suggest any kind of solution?
     
  26. thorbjrn_knapnok

    thorbjrn_knapnok

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Hi Fayyad!,

    I have a bit of a problem using the plugin. For some reason, most arabic fonts seems to be missing a few characters, so I end up with a lot of (missing glyph-)boxes.

    The font "Amman" seemingly works fine (with some generated Lorem ipsum text, and using a TextMeshPro Text):
    ArabicLoremIpsum_Amman.png

    But the font "Baldufa" is missing ~30 of the glyphs that Amman contains, with the exact same text:
    ArabicLoremIpsum_Baldufa.png


    The problem is that this seems to be the case for most arabic fonts, so we end up with only a few fonts that are usable.. :(

    Am I doing something wrong, or is there some other solution to this issue?
     
  27. FayyadSufyan

    FayyadSufyan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    Please note that Unity has poor Arabic font support, you can expect alot of glyphs to be missing and wrong rendering of some glyphs e.g "الماء" is rendered in different form inside Unity.

    Please contact me by email to discuss further details.


    Regards
     
  28. highlyinteractive

    highlyinteractive

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Posts:
    116
    Thanks Fayyad, I will email you regarding the "الماء" problem.

    Regarding the missing glyphs though, I have seen a number of glyphs that are only missing when I use EasyArabic. Using ArabicFixer they appear fine.

    But your plugin has the excellent paragraph wrapping support, so I would much prefer to use EasyArabic if possible. Perhaps you and Konash could collaborate? ;)
     
  29. FayyadSufyan

    FayyadSufyan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    Well I've been very busy working on a project for the past couple of months, i am planning to release a big update as soon as i finish the work and testing.

    Expected features are:
    -Full source code
    -Better Bidirectional text support
    -Bug fixes


    Cheers
     
  30. darrencperry

    darrencperry

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Posts:
    20
    Hi Fayyad,

    How is your Arabic diacritic support? I see this Fathatan (sorry if incorrect, I don't speak Arabic at all just work with it) in your video but the alignment looks a bit off to the left?

    upload_2018-1-29_11-23-36.png
     
  31. FayyadSufyan

    FayyadSufyan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    The diacritic or Tashkeel is poorly supported by Unity font layout engine.
    Some font may display tashkeel well while other font displays it incorrectly.
    You can contact me via email to discuss further details.
     
  32. ehsan1234

    ehsan1234

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Hi.
    does it work for InputField?
    i need something that player input some text in persian language that it could be more that 1 line(need wrapping) and player can also insert new line(enter).
     
  33. cruisereric

    cruisereric

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    Hi, the asset is not available to me in the asset store.
    What should I do?
    do you need to give it an update?
    we need this.
     
  34. FayyadSufyan

    FayyadSufyan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Posts:
    33
  35. Sufyan-Elahi

    Sufyan-Elahi

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Posts:
    7
    i want to know about your plugin is that Whether its support Urdu fonts such as Nastaleeq Font?
    thanks
     
  36. FayyadSufyan

    FayyadSufyan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    The tool supports Urdu!
    I've tried one font called Jameel Nori Nastaleeq and it is not working with Unity Text but i managed to generate some glyphs with Text Mesh Pro with many missing characters.
    Please contact me via e-mail with your font attached so i can test it.
     
  37. bsweileh

    bsweileh

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Posts:
    15
    Hey Fayyad,

    I hope you are doing well. Which Arabic fonts have you tested and found that they fully support diacritics (Tashkeel) with TextMeshPro? So, far, all fonts I have tried with "Easy Alphabet Arabic" mess up the Arabic word when Taskheel is added. Please advise. Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2018
  38. FayyadSufyan

    FayyadSufyan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    Hi,

    Honestly, at the moment in unity there is no font that can "fully" support Arabic diacritics.
    But the best font I've found that supports diacritics to a good degree is Arial :)
    One workaround for this diacritic issue is to modify the font file glyphs using a tool like Font Forge if you have the license permission that allows you to modify the font.

    You can send me an email with a screenshot attached that contains an example of the "messed up" words and we can discuss more details about your issue and the possible solutions.

    Best
     
  39. IVTore

    IVTore

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Hi, does "Easy alphabet arabic" work fine in unity 2018.1?
    If not will you support it?
    This may seem like a weird question but asset store warns me when I want to buy it.
    Thanks in advance for your interest and nice work.
     
  40. FayyadSufyan

    FayyadSufyan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    I have tested the plugin in Unity 2018.2.0b2 and everything is working just, fine both on Unity UI and Textmesh Pro
     
  41. SunnyChow

    SunnyChow

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Posts:
    360
    i have tested it in 2017.3.1. the wrapping does not work. i need to change textComponent.Rebuild() to Canvas.ForceUpdateCanvas(). However , as this is a hacky way to solve the wrapping. it gets some conflict with some of my scripts.

    AH i wish unity support language that goes right-to-left
     
  42. FayyadSufyan

    FayyadSufyan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    The wrapping in Unity UI system is somewhat unstable, I recommend using TextMesh Pro.
     
  43. Neoneo

    Neoneo

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Hello there! Does this plugin work fine with NGUI? My games are all made with "NGUI" system.
    Thanks!
     
  44. FayyadSufyan

    FayyadSufyan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    The plugin has some issues displaying correctly in NGUI components.
    It works well with Unity UI and Textmesh Pro.
     
  45. dsay09

    dsay09

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Posts:
    7
    before buy this plugin want to know that this plugin was fully supported Urdu language ? and supported in 2019 or not.?
     
  46. Hamza-Hasan

    Hamza-Hasan

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    Hello,
    Want to ask if your plugin supports FULL URDU? Because there are still some characters that are not supported anywhere.
    Can I have a live demo somewhere? Or a video that shows all type of URDU sentences.
    I can give you some URDU phrases for reference, that are not seems supported still, after every work around.

    Hope to hear from you soon.
     
  47. FayyadSufyan

    FayyadSufyan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    Hi Hamza,
    Please send me those characters you see unfixed in the tool so I can figure this out.

    Regards
     
  48. knightOfSecrets

    knightOfSecrets

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    I have a problem, the tool (under windows -> Easy Alphabet Arabic) translates well when I give it some Arabic text but when I copy the output and past it to the text of the TMPro or even normal text, it types nothing(and nothing exists in the clipboard) thats if I type my self in unity, I tried something else, I wrote the Arabic text outside unity in an external editor, and copy past that to the tool, the output worked just fine but when I take that output and past it to the text of my desire, I find strange symbols like Ỵߍ.
     
  49. FayyadSufyan

    FayyadSufyan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    What is your Unity version? Please contact me on support email instead.
     
  50. novaVision

    novaVision

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Posts:
    515
    Does it work with TextMeshPro GUI and 3D TextMeshPro?