Search Unity

  1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

[Released] BFGames: Simply A* Pathfinding! NOW FREE

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by BFGames, Dec 28, 2012.

  1. PhoenixRising1

    PhoenixRising1

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Posts:
    488
    Thanks for the fast reply. Working now.
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2015
  2. Nine_Tails

    Nine_Tails

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Posts:
    31
    I'm curious about your waypoint navigation. What I'm wanting to do is impliment a naviagtion system like that found in Xcom or Shadowground. Where a character has a set range movement and it's movement range is displayed around him.

    Has anyone got a way in which you can highlight the available path a character / entity can take within a range?
     
  3. BFGames

    BFGames

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Posts:
    1,543
    Thats not a part of the system, you will need to code that part your self.
     
  4. PhoenixRising1

    PhoenixRising1

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Posts:
    488
    Nvm.
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2015
  5. BFGames

    BFGames

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Posts:
    1,543
    Wrong thread mate ;)
     
  6. PhoenixRising1

    PhoenixRising1

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Posts:
    488
    My apologies.
     
  7. andyblem

    andyblem

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2014
    Posts:
    26
    I am failing to add my own dynamic grid object. when i add the default td objects the system works, bt when i parent the td object or when i add my own Mesh it does not work. I have tried adding MeshFilters to my mesh but nothing works
     
  8. jimjames

    jimjames

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Posts:
    63
    Hi:
    I was wondering if you can remove waypoints during runtime and restart the path generated for AI without getting error "IndexOutOfRangeException: Array index is out of range." after a few restarts of the same object. My setup kinda dosnt allow for grid.
    Thanks
     
  9. Toacher81

    Toacher81

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Hi. Iv been trying to use pathfinding2D, but when im drawing map it doesnt use the Collider2Ds for drawing usable node areas. Is there away for to use Collider2D, or do i have to use normal Colliders, as that seems to work?
     
  10. liquify

    liquify

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Posts:
    187
    Hi @BFGames, I would like to ask about the FindPath method in the WaypointPathfinder.cs. Is it possible to make the FindPath method to return a list of WaypointNodes, instead of returning a list of Vector3? I see that there is a variable called "currentNode", but it is a WaypointListNode...
     
  11. BFGames

    BFGames

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Posts:
    1,543
    If you know your way around code it is very possible. You need to find where i take all positions from the nodes and returns that list. Then you have to rewrite that part to return whatever you want. However as i have not looked at the code for almost a year i cannot pin point the exact spot, sorry :D
     
  12. liquify

    liquify

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Posts:
    187
    No worries... Thanks for giving your code away for free. Good luck with your projects :)
     
  13. Blacklight

    Blacklight

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,241
    Hi @BFGames,

    I really like the asset, but I had one issue that I was hoping you could help me with. Is there a way to get the grid generator to work with multi-leveled structures? IE a bridge where characters can walk both under and on top of it?
     
    Blarp likes this.
  14. BFGames

    BFGames

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Posts:
    1,543
    Sorry that never made it into the project. And i dont work on it anymore sadly.
     
  15. Blacklight

    Blacklight

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,241
    I had a fiddle with the code, and I reckon I'd have to entirely rework how the grid is stored to get it to work. I think I'll have to find another solution.

    Still, thank you for the excellent asset!
     
    Blarp likes this.
  16. juglarx

    juglarx

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Posts:
    60
    Hi it is a great asset! it is posible mix in one scene a pathfinding grid with a waypoint for 2 different kind of object, mainly i would like human walking with the grid pathfinding and cars using the waypoints pathfinding... it is posible ?
    cheers
     
  17. Blarp

    Blarp

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Posts:
    269
  18. ardiawanbagusharisa

    ardiawanbagusharisa

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Posts:
    9
    Hello!

    I know it' been a while. But, how can I get an array of waypoint nodes via code?
     
  19. Infitek

    Infitek

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Hello ! I have a little issue with the MoveDiagonal option, my ennemies are moving diagonally sometimes even if the option is unchecked, and the Guizmo representation of the grid of the map show 8 neighbours by tile, is this a know issue ? Isthere a fix for it ?
    Thank you for this amazing asset.