Search Unity

realistic aquarium

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by kdeluxe, Aug 9, 2017.

1. kdeluxe

kdeluxe

I saw an older post about this that didn't have a solution, but I thought I'd ask now and see if anyone's figured out a way to put a good looking water shader behind glass, with caustics and some light rays.

I'm fairly new to Unity and shaders but this seems like something that should be solvable. Any ideas?

2. Alex_curiscope

Alex_curiscope

If you give the glass material a frag shader that measures the depth of the back of the aquarium glass or the aquarium floor or ceiling somehow (use stencil perhaps), then you know the depth difference between the front of the aquarium and the back/floor. This lets you change the colour by an amount proportional to that depth, which you could either fake using a texture lookup ramp, a function, or by doing some more correct solution like rayleigh scattering to remove reds and greens proportional to distance.

If you want the water to refract properly, you'll need to do something like set up render textures for each pane and use a separate camera to get the right projection. Not a trivial problem to solve. A ray tracing solution might be better but that's a whole other ball game. There are some good shader examples out there showing ray tracing in isolated water volumes, but I'm not sue how they'll deal with regular meshes/shaders within that volume.

3. Alex_curiscope

Alex_curiscope

If you want light rays then you could ray march through the volume over the given distance, sampling and accumulating light at each position against a caustics cookie on a directional light with a falloff based on distance to the water surface. This could also be used for fogging as you look through greater depths of water. Caustics can be achieved with an animated texture as a cookie on the directional light.

An easier approach to the light rays of course would be to use a particle system :)

4. kdeluxe

kdeluxe