Search Unity

Randomly generate objects inside of a box

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by jdepew, Jul 1, 2011.

1. jdepew

jdepew

What is the best way to go about randomly spawning objects within the bounds of a box but only when the box is moving?

I am either going to
    1: instantiate empty game objects inside of the box and then make them spawn rigidbody objects randomly from a group of models when they are hit with a collider.
    or
    2: simply randomly instantiate the models inside of the box and then "activate" them when they come into contact with the collider.

hopefully that makes sense.

I'm new to scripting and I realize this is a somewhat complicated task. I apologize if I am not communicating this well.

2. BotMo

BotMo

it's not that complicated, it just seems that way until you get used to thinking like a computer. I'll give you some pseudo-code to help you out, but you'll have to look some things up on your own.

**note: you'll have to sort out xyz/height, width, depth on your own. I always forget which is which.

//set up some variables for your box.
    boxx= box position x
    boxy = box position y
    boxz = box position z
    boxw = width of box
    boxh = height of box
    boxd = depth of box

//theres a randomize function in unity, you set a min and max value. you want it to be half of the dimensions of the box.
    //so for example, if your box is 8 wide you want to randomize between 4 and -4.
    randw = randomize(boxw/2,boxw/2*-1)
    randh = randomize(boxh/2,boxh/2*-1)
    randd = randomize(boxd/2,boxd/2*-1)

//now see if your box is moving. do this by setting a variable when you tell the box to move and stop
    if(player is hitting a button or whatever){move the box; boxismoving = true;}
    if(player is not hitting the button to move the box){stop moving the box; boxismoving = false;}

//now, if boxismoving is true, then spawn objects
    if(boxismoving == true)
    {
    coordinatex = boxx - randw;