Search Unity

Problems with serialization of a MonoBehaviour when controlled by a CustomEditor

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by NewtonDynamics, Jun 24, 2016.

1. NewtonDynamics

NewtonDynamics

Hi,
    I am new to Unity, for the past three weeks I am having the problem in the title.
    I first I though I was my lack of experience but as time past by the problem becomes more and more intolerable.

Bascially for each MonoBehavior class that we control with a Custom Editor class, the class members are initialized to some strange default values each time with start the scene.
    I simplified a sample class to this.
    Code (CSharp):
    2. [DisallowMultipleComponent]
    3. [AddComponentMenu("Newton Physics/Newton World")]
    4. public class NewtonWorld : MonoBehaviour
    5. {
    6.     public dNewtonWorld GetWorld()
    7.     {
    8.         return m_world;
    9.     }
    10.     private dNewtonWorld m_world = new dNewtonWorld();
    12.     public int m_numberOfThreads = 0;
    13. }
    and the custom editor is this

Code (CSharp):
    1. [CustomEditor(typeof(NewtonWorld))]
    2. public class NewtonWorldEditor: Editor
    3. {
    4.     public override void OnInspectorGUI()
    5.     {
    6.         NewtonWorld world = (NewtonWorld)target;
    7.         world.m_numberOfThreads = EditorGUILayout.IntPopup("worked threads", world.m_numberOfThreads, m_numberOfThreads, m_numberOfThreadsValues);
    8.     }
    10.     static private int[] m_numberOfThreadsValues = { 0, 2, 3, 4, 8};
    11.     static private string[] m_numberOfThreads = { "single threaded", "2 worked threads", "3 worked threads", "4 worked threads", "8 worked threads"};
    12. }
    member variable m_numberOfThreads is set to 2 and if we have to set it each time we launch the scene.
    I have read all the documentation about serialization as well as many of the works around from various people, nothing seems to work.