Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
Unity's version control component has been upgraded to Plastic SCM.

Play button sticks?

Discussion in 'Unity Collaborate' started by Vectrex, Mar 16, 2017.

1. Vectrex

Vectrex

Is it just me or does your play button stick randomly. Around once every 30-40 plays it'll just sit there, clicked, WITHOUT playing the game. Unity hasn't frozen though as the scene view is live. You CAN'T stop it either, so I have to restart Unity.

Why am I posting this in collab? It might be a coincidence but I've noticed that a lot of the time, if I push/pull with collab, it'll unlock the play button and actually play the game.
    This might not be a collab bug, but it's linked somehow. This isn't just me as I'm a teacher and many students get it on their laptops too (we all use Collab)

2. Ryan-Unity

Ryan-Unity

Hi @Vectrex! I'm sorry that you and your students have been running into this annoying issue. You're right, there is a bug in 5.5 where trying to play soon after pulling the latest changes can cause the compiler to hang on some occasions, which also holds up the Editor. We have a fix for most of these compiler edge cases in 5.6. Sorry again for the inconvenience.

Vectrex likes this.
  3. MrLucid72

MrLucid72

Heya @ryanc-unity -- when is this patch coming out :) My teammate and I experience this bug every 1 in 5 plays since 5.5 :/ it's more often than just after a recent pull, but even recent changes from Visual Studio! We're dying for a fix. I'd do anything for such a patch. It's still not fixed in 5.6.1 :( I'll do whatever I can to help get this rolling, just tell me.

4. Ryan-Unity

Ryan-Unity