Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Planetary Gravity

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Zuzeko, Sep 1, 2010.

1. Zuzeko

Zuzeko

Hello to the forums!
    And dear god hopefully someone can help me a little on this :/

I'm quite new to unity, only being aware of it's existence for little over a month and with only a dismal scrap of a game to my name. And I of course made my next project for uni as hard as possible by passively absorbing Super Mario Galaxy 2 gameplay into my subconscious.

I need to set up a scene where I have one large planetary mass which creates it's own field of gravity.
    I need to have a character object that can traverse the planet sticking to it's surface. And by stick, I mean remain feet-first on the surface.
    Likewise I need enemy ai objects that can chase the character, but I'm sure I can work that out on my own steam.

I want the gameplay to be limited to a 2D platformer with 3D graphics, thus restricting the movement controls to forwards, backwards and up(jump).

Being able to jump between planets would be nice, but is optional.

Research that I have done includes Podperson's faux gravity thread
    http://forum.unity3d.com/viewtopic.php?t=9476&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0
    Where I got the whole system to work, (I really loved how well they worked)
    Except that the character controllers consistently caused objects to launch themselves into orbit or even to fall off of the base of the planet for no particular reason. It was very difficult to control where the character was going, and that's precisely what I need to fix first.