Search Unity

Oh my, why so complicated

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by ImpossibleRobert, Feb 15, 2016.

1. ImpossibleRobert

ImpossibleRobert

Two weeks ago there was the global game jam and in the spirit of tackling something challenging I decided to include Unity multiplayer into our small game. Long story short: after around a day I gave up.

I would claim I am by no means a bad developer. I can do some pretty awesome stuff in Unity and other environments. The thing is: a year ago I added multiplayer to a Unity game of mine using Photon. Two players doing turns one after the other, lobby, skillbased matchmaking etc. This took me 2 hours for the initial prototype and 1 day to get right. I would ask for simple "isServer" and if not do the client stuff, otherwise the server logic. I could broadcast messages to all, to all clients etc. Super easy. And the beauty was, if no server was connected it would automatically switch to local multiplayer without any change of code.

So now UNET. My expectations were really high. I was sure Unity staff had looked at Photon and how easy it was. I read blogs how they hired the best of the best with years of experience. And I was sure they had made it the best there is out there.

How could I be so wrong. What I encountered is incredibly hard to understand conceptually, poorly documented, and simply disappointing. The concept of a server which can only send RPC calls, and clients who can only send commands, this makes things tremendously complicated. Or I didn't get it. In Photon a function call was a function call. Call it and it would be received.