Search Unity

Obscure case for PlayerPrefs getting wiped on Windows 10

Discussion in 'Windows' started by skaarjslayer, Nov 18, 2016.

1. skaarjslayer

skaarjslayer

Hey guys,

Basically, I got an obscure case for PlayerPrefs getting wiped on Windows 10 builds. Basically, if you shut down a Windows 10 x86 device by pressing and holding the power button while the game is running, the PlayerPrefs for our game appears to be completely wiped.

This does not occur if I shutdown the device through start menu.
    This does not occur if I restart the device through start menu.
    This does not occur if the device sleeps or shuts down on low battery.
    This does not occur if the device shuts down due to 0% battery.
    This only seems to occur if you press and hold the power button on the device.

I wouldn't shut a computer down this way. But I can't say anyone who downloaded our game wouldn't, and if they did they'd lose their save. The only problem is, this doesn't seem to occur consistently. For instance, after the player prefs were wiped the first time, I attempted to create save data and force shut down again using the same build and the issue did not occur. To make matters worse, I couldn't reproduce the issue with a build attached to a debugger in Visual Studio, so there are no logs/errors I can provide that show anything.

Easy questions to get out of the way:

1) Yes, I've made sure that I am indeed saving to PlayerPrefs correctly before the forced shutdown occurs.
    2) This was made with a Windows 10 build made using Unity 5.4.3f1. It's been confirmed to happen on older Unity 5 builds, such as 5.4.2, and even as far back as 5.2.4. This does not occur on our Unity 4 projects.
    3) I tested this using a x86 Windows 10 laptop and an x86 Windows 10 tablet