1. Help us improve the editor usability and artist workflows. Join our discussion to provide your feedback.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We're looking for feedback on Unity Starter Kits! Let us know what you’d like.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We’re giving 2017.1 beta testers a chance to win t-shirts and a Nintendo Switch. Read more on the blog.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Unity 2017.1 beta is now available for download.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Unity 5.6 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Get further faster with the Unity Plus Accelerator Pack, free for new Unity Plus subscribers for a limited time. Click here for more details.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out all the fixes for 5.6 on the patch releases page.
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Learn how you'll soon be able to publish your games to China in four simple steps with Xiaomi. Sign up now for early access.
    Dismiss Notice

Not syncing correctly..

Discussion in 'Unity Collaborate' started by ev3d, Mar 13, 2017.

  1. ev3d

    ev3d

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    294
    I have the project on my machine and t runs and compiles fine... On one of my coworkers machines the same project downloaded from collaboration won't compile... we found out the even though we are both synced and have the green check mark, he has an older version of several files...

    One more interesting tid bit... he JUST downloaded the code from collaboration... what is going on here? How do you recommend we fix it?
     
  2. ryanc-unity

    ryanc-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    232
    Hi @ev3d! I'm sorry your coworker is having trouble getting the whole project. Can you I get the following info from you:

    1) What version of Unity are you using?
    2) How many GB is your project?
    3) What OS are you and your coworker using?
    4) Can your coworker make a small change, like making an empty folder, open the Collab History window, then hit Restore on the latest commit to get their local copy of the project back to what the server has? Do they have the latest version of the project then?
    5) Can your coworker try to download the project into a new folder? Are they still getting older versions of the files?
    6) How many commits are in your Collab History?
     
  3. ev3d

    ev3d

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    294

    1) 5.5.2f1
    2) No idea what you want me to measure here? But collaborate says the entire history is 13 GB
    3) I am using Mac and Windows.. He is using Windows..
    4) So far he has never used "restore".. he always uses "update"...
    5) When he downloads a new copy it DOES NOT give him the correct version of all the files.. we have one folder that always seems to get corrupted..
    6) It shows 45
     
  4. ryanc-unity

    ryanc-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    232
    Thanks for the fast reply.

    2) I just meant if you were to right-click on your Assets folder and select Get Info, how big is that folder?

    Are YOU able to download a new copy of the project and see the same thing that your teammate is?

    Can you also DM your UPID for this project so that we can look into it on the server side?
     
  5. ev3d

    ev3d

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    294
    13.97 GB
     
  6. ev3d

    ev3d

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    294
    Also, he tried the "Restore" and it brought BACK the bad folder... (We replaced it manually to get the project to compile on his machine... so the SERVER is where the issue is.. cause it always downloads the wrong thing..
     
  7. ev3d

    ev3d

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    294
    I am downloading the project on my machine and will report back... but from what i am seeing, my money says it will have the error..
     
  8. ryanc-unity

    ryanc-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    232
    Thank you for the info. We'll look into this on our end and try to let you know as soon as we uncover anything.

    One last thing to try. Could you try unlinking your project and creating a new link (effectively creating a new project) from the Settings tab in the Services window? When that finishes, can you have your teammate attempt to download this new project and see if they run into the same issue?
     
  9. ev3d

    ev3d

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    294
    that seems like it will make you unable to fix the original issue if i do that...
     
  10. ev3d

    ev3d

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    294
    is there a way to manually delete the erroneous folder from the server so i can re-upload it?
     
  11. ryanc-unity

    ryanc-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    232
    You can try to copy your local version of that folder outside of your project, deleting it, then pushing the deleted folder change. Now the corrupted folder should be gone from the server. Have your teammate pull again and verify that they don't have it anymore. Then paste the folder back into the project and push the newly added folder. That should unblock your teammate.
     
  12. Zapgun

    Zapgun

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Posts:
    42
    I've experienced this same problem with my projects.. it claims the project is entirely synced up, but some of the files are not correctly updated. I found the easiest way to fix it was to go into the affected files, add a space so the file can be re-sent to collaborate, and resync it. It is a pain though..

    This is all taking place in the latest version of Unity (5.6) by the way.
     
  13. marzubus

    marzubus

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    Just had this same issue, my really small project, 284Kbyte, some scripts are much older when I use collab to sync from my macbook to my windows desktop. I can modify all my scripts a little bit to get them to sync, but thats gonna suck if I have to redo that all the time.
     
  14. ryanc-unity

    ryanc-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    232
    Hi @marzubus! Would you mind submitting a bug report and posting the bug number here? I'd like to go over your project since it's so small yet it's still exhibiting these sync issues. You can do this by going to Help->Report a Bug.
     
  15. marzubus

    marzubus

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    Hej @ryanc-unity, I logged one, tracking number: 912406

    /Kegan
     
    ryanc-unity likes this.
  16. ryanc-unity

    ryanc-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    232
    Thank you, @marzubus! You mentioned in your bug that you're also using git with your project. Collab is not designed to work alongside other source control options. Can I ask how you're using git along with Collab?
     
  17. marzubus

    marzubus

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    @ryanc-unity I am just using git from command line to occasionally commit and push code for backup purposes. This is only on my mac. collab seems to ignore the .git files. I can nuke the .git files if you want and try reproduce again?

    /Kegan
     
  18. ryanc-unity

    ryanc-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    232
    @marzubus Gotcha. If you could, perhaps you could make a copy of your project and nuke the .git files in that copy, then see if you can repro the issue from there?
     
  19. marzubus

    marzubus

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    @ryanc-unity I have not been able to reproduce the issue.
     
  20. ryanc-unity

    ryanc-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    232
    Thank you for the update. Please let us know if it, or any other issue, comes up again.