1. We're looking for feedback on Unity Starter Kits! Let us know what you’d like.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2017.2 beta is now available for download.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Unity 2017.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Introducing the Unity Essentials Packs! Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Reddit AMA with Adam Myhill on Cinemachine, Thurs July 27 - 10AM PT. More info.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out all the fixes for 5.6 on the patch releases page.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Help us improve the editor usability and artist workflows. Join our discussion to provide your feedback.
    Dismiss Notice

No stack traces on iOS

Discussion in 'Unity Game Performance Reporting Preview' started by tiksa, Jan 25, 2017.

  1. tiksa

    tiksa

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Hello all,

    I've seen many threads where the problem has been that there are no stack traces on Android. However, we have an iOS Unity app with Performance reporting but we don't get stack traces, at least in most cases.

    For example, one of the errors that occur most often is:
    NullReferenceException: A null value was found where an object instance was required.

    That was the 'Message', and 'Stack trace' is empty.

    One type of the errors is simply with message:
    NullReferenceException
    and no stack trace.

    We use Unity 5.4 with IL2CPP.

    Any ideas how to fix this? Thank you!
     
  2. thomasn_unity

    thomasn_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    42
    Hi tiksa,

    This is a known issue. Unfortunately I don't have an estimate on a fix at this time.
     
  3. gegagome

    gegagome

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    260
    I pushed an iOS update using 5.5.1p4 and I am having the same problem.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks
     
  4. GerardInc

    GerardInc

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Could this be related to Xcode's bitcode option? Ever since we enabled it, it stopped working. Although we also upgraded Unity to version 5.4.4f1
     
  5. GerardInc

    GerardInc

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    After disabling bitcode, stack traces started to work again.
     
  6. gegagome

    gegagome

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    260
    Interesting. Have to try it in my next update.

    Thanks
     
  7. samizzo

    samizzo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Posts:
    214
    This is happening to me in 5.4.3f1. So is disabling bitcode the workaround, then? Can someone from Unity look into this?
     
  8. thomasn_unity

    thomasn_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    42
    Hmm, somehow I missed the post here that says having bitcode enabled corresponds to whether stack traces are blank. I'll investigate that ASAP.
     
  9. samizzo

    samizzo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Posts:
    214
    Thank you!
     
  10. thomasn_unity

    thomasn_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    42
    I tested it and unfortunately, having bitcode enabled doesn't cause the missing stack trace issue to reproduce in my test project. If anyone out there has an iOS project that will reliably produce crash reports with empty stack traces, please submit a bug with your project attached.
     
  11. samizzo

    samizzo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Posts:
    214
    Thanks. I was actually a bit sceptical that it would make any difference!