Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

(newbie) need help with an animator script

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Splooge, Apr 23, 2017.

1. Splooge

Splooge

Hi everyone I am new to unity and coding in general. I am having a lot of trouble getting my animations in and so that they work with the W,A,S,D keys. I had a movement script and a camera script so I was okay there, I just cannot get the animations right and linking them together in the animator is confusing. If anyone can possibly help me it would really be appreciated. Thanks

2. Schneider21

Schneider21

Welcome!

It's not super clear what part you're struggling with exactly, so the best I can do is point you to the Animation department of the Learn section. If you post some more specific details of what you're experiencing and how that differs from the behavior you're expecting (along with some screenshots or even video to demonstrate), we can help you a bit better.

JoeStrout likes this.
  3. Splooge

Splooge

@Schneider21 thank you for getting back to me! All I am having trouble with is basic animation, I just want my character to run when I hold WASD and to do a stab animation when I use the left mouse click. Right now I can move him but he looks like a statue so I am just trying to figure out how to get his running, side and backward animations working for movement with the keys

4. Schneider21

Schneider21

Chances are you want to be setting animation properties in your code that tell the Animator to play the appropriate animation. To confirm that, can you post some screenshots of what you have, like your Animator state and some of its properties?

5. Splooge

Splooge

6. Schneider21

Schneider21