Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

New to Unity, have several questions.

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by ElectricCrow, Sep 9, 2012.

1. ElectricCrow

ElectricCrow

Ok,
    so I have never created a game before in my life. I'm not a programmer beyond HTML in the 90's. I'm a Photoshop Graphics guy.
    I have some questions if I may.

#1. The assets from the asset store, are they useable in a commercial game?
    #2. When creating a game level, if I want to have multiple towns or dungeons etc, how do I connect them in game?
    #3. Aside from the asset store, where else might I look for usable models, environments etc?
    #4. When buying assets, they obviously come in different poly counts and detail, how do I know I can use them all in the same game, say for mobile use?
    #5. I'm creating a very different RPG game set in the Fantasy era, what other things should I consider in the development? Assets to look at, scripts etc?
    #6. Can a game be written in any code? My tutorials now are in JAvascript but I see lots of references to C++ etc.

2. renman3000

renman3000

1. Yes.
    2. Very complicated question for a newb. What do you mean by "connect"?
    3. Nowhere (?)
    4. For mobile you really want to optimize. I would ask the makers of said asset and ask in the forums if an asset is mobile friendly.
    5. I am a 2D platformer guy. Sorry.
    6. Unity is compatible with JS (US), C# and Boo. I would choose only one for a project tho.

My advice is to learn basics before you purchase anything. I spent a year learning full time before I began to develop my first title (Temple Racer for the iOS), shameless plug.

3. Antony-Blackett

Antony-Blackett