Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Need help understanding the Fresnel equation for PBR

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by PlazmaInteractive, Apr 3, 2017.

1. PlazmaInteractive

PlazmaInteractive

Hello everyone. I've been studying the Cg (or HLSL) shading language for a couple of months and I finally decided to write a shader that's based on PBR. I understand that there's energy conservation, microfacets and other things but the thing that confuses me the most right now is fresnel.

Based on my understanding, fresnel states that in grazing angles, you'll see reflection on the surface of objects more clearly than looking straight on. I'm following this website and while it's in OpenGL, it had helped me understand the concept of PBR. I'm replicating Schlick's approximation in my Cg code with the help of the website and this is the output.
    Fresnel.PNG

I'm pretty sure that's how it work isn't it? When I increase the Metalness value, the meshes turns red. I added that Fresnel slider so I can adjust the rim I guess to increase or decrease it. I'm not sure if this is needed but in Blender, I think you're able to do this. Correct me on this if I'm wrong.

And lastly, here's the Cg code in case I'm missing something or made some mistake.
    Code (csharp):
    1. Shader "ShaderChallenge/Fresnel-Schlick"
    2. {
    3.     Properties
    4.     {
    5.         _Color("Color", Color) = (1.0, 1.0, 1.0, 1.0)
    6.         _Fresnel("Fresnel", Range(1, 18)) = 5.0
    7.         _Metalness("Metalness", Range(0, 1)) = 0.0
    8.     }
    9.     SubShader
    10.     {
    11.         Pass
    12.         {
    13.             Tags { "LightMode" = "ForwardBase" }
    15.             CGPROGRAM
    16.             #pragma vertex vert // Use vert function for vertex shader