Search Unity

Need help starting out writing a geometry shader

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by 5argon, Jun 15, 2017.

1. 5argon

5argon

I am new to writing shaders. First I want to confirm is what I want solved by writing a geometry shader? If so, I can go on and learn about it.

First, this is what I want. The model is the white and red thing, but the grey and white outline is currently achieved by duplicating that model, scale up a bit, then apply a shader that renders everything in grey and white. (With render order behind the main ones) The current approach requires 3 non-batchable draw calls, and 3 times vertex amount.

I want to reduce the Tris count in the game, so I thought about making a special kind of shader that renders 2 passes on just that main model. The first pass would be the outline, where it would expand by the direction of normals. (if possible, I want to do 2 color at the same time in this one pass. Maybe via a threshold parameter how much would the grey part will be on the white. In this picture, it would be about 30%) The second pass would be just a normal diffuse shader.

I would like to get some starts on what I need to be able to achieve this. From what I understand, I have to write a "Surface shader" (according to the guide) because the main part interacts with lighting? And with HLSL?

Last edited: Jun 15, 2017
  2. bgolus

bgolus

A few things:
    • This doesn't need a geometry shader, just a multi-pass shader.
    • Using a geometry shader (or multi-pass shader) doesn't decrease the vertex count. The same number of vertices will be rendered either way, and a geometry shader might even increase that count.
    • Expanding by vertex normal is harder than it sounds. It works well for smooth geometry, but it'll expose holes in hard edged geometry.