Search Unity

>Need Help< CommandInvocation error and Null reference exception

Discussion in '2D' started by GameCash, Apr 1, 2017.

  1. GameCash

    GameCash

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    At this point I am almost about to switch game engines i'm getting so frustrated. I am currently creating a game and i'm at the testing stage, so i downloaded the testing example provided by unity with the red cube etc. no matter what i do for {android} there seems to be a problem with the SDK. I have tried all solutions at this point, re-downloading older one, this and that. so i have boiled it down to 2 errors, 1 with the older SDK, and 1 with the newer SDK with android manager...
    Here is the problem with the old SDK :
    Error building Player: CommandInvokationFailure: Unable to resolve build tools directory. See the Console for more details.
    C:/Program Files/Java/jdk1.8.0_121\bin\java.exe -Xmx2048M -Dcom.android.sdkmanager.toolsdir="C:/Users/imabe/Desktop/SSDDKK/tools\tools" -Dfile.encoding=UTF8 -jar "C:\Program Files\Unity\Editor\Data\PlaybackEngines\AndroidPlayer/Tools\sdktools.jar" -
    and
    NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    UnityEditor.Android.PostProcessor.Tasks.CheckAndroidSdk.Execute (UnityEditor.Android.PostProcessor.PostProcessorContext context)
    UnityEditor.Android.PostProcessor.PostProcessRunner.RunAllTasks (UnityEditor.Android.PostProcessor.PostProcessorContext context)
    UnityEditor.Android.PostProcessAndroidPlayer.PrepareForBuild (BuildOptions options, BuildTarget target)
    UnityEditor.Android.AndroidBuildPostprocessor.PrepareForBuild (BuildOptions options, BuildTarget target)
    UnityEditor.PostprocessBuildPlayer.PrepareForBuild (BuildOptions options, BuildTarget target) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/BuildPipeline/PostprocessBuildPlayer.cs:98)
    UnityEditor.HostView:OnGUI()
    with the other new one its:
    CommandInvokationFailure: Unable to list target platforms. Please make sure the android sdk path is correct. See the Console for more details.
    C:/Program Files/Java/jdk1.8.0_121\bin\java.exe -Xmx2048M -Dcom.android.sdkmanager.toolsdir="C:/Users/imabe/AppData/Local/Android/sdk1\tools" -Dfile.encoding=UTF8 -jar "C:\Program Files\Unity\Editor\Data\PlaybackEngines\AndroidPlayer/Tools\sdktools.jar" -

    stderr[
    Error:Invalid command android
    ]
    stdout[

    ]
    exit code: 64
    UnityEditor.Android.Command.Run (System.Diagnostics.ProcessStartInfo psi, UnityEditor.Android.WaitingForProcessToExit waitingForProcessToExit, System.String errorMsg)
    UnityEditor.Android.AndroidSDKTools.RunCommandInternal (System.String javaExe, System.String sdkToolsDir, System.String[] sdkToolCommand, Int32 memoryMB, System.String workingdir, UnityEditor.Android.WaitingForProcessToExit waitingForProcessToExit, System.String errorMsg)
    UnityEditor.Android.AndroidSDKTools.RunCommandSafe (System.String javaExe, System.String sdkToolsDir, System.String[] sdkToolCommand, Int32 memoryMB, System.String workingdir, UnityEditor.Android.WaitingForProcessToExit waitingForProcessToExit, System.String errorMsg)
    UnityEditor.HostView:OnGUI()

    PLEASE HELP, I WANT TO REALLY USE UNITY3D INSTEAD OF THE OTHERS. this problem occurs with my game and the unity test one. THANK YOU
     
  2. GameCash

    GameCash

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    BUMP! help plz
     
  3. ethanwgross

    ethanwgross

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Posts:
    83
    Man, same issue, has anyone found a feasible solution to this?
     
  4. GameCash

    GameCash

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Hey bro, i actually figured it out.
    Had to rename a couple files and also do the enviromental variables. After I put the jdk bin folder to an enviromental varibale, i then seen that one of the sdk's i had was actually the "tools" folder that unity was complaining about. So i went to my original sdk and deleted the original tools folder and replaced it with my tools folder i had named "ssddkk". so after i replaced that tools folder with ssddkk i renamed ssddkk to just Tools. It worked. can test my game now. Unity confused me with the "platform tools" error when it was just the tools that was a problem, and also sdk's cannot be on the desktop like guy said above me. message me if anyone else had this problem and need pictures..thanks again
     
    ethanwgross likes this.