Search Unity

N00b Shader questions & advice

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by Snouto, May 24, 2017.

1. Snouto

Snouto

Hi everyone

Although I'm a seasoned programmer with some experience of Unity I have very little knowledge of Shaders. What knowledge i do have has come from reading various sources and looking at source code over the last few days, so it's still very raw.

I'm working on a volume rendering shader and I'm at the stage of wanting to optimise the shader rendering by progressively degrading the quality of the volume away from the camera view. I've got something working along a specific axis, however as the volume cube is rotated there is an obvious step change from the high quality front facing volume and the rest of the lower quality back volume. That is to say, where the volume quality changes is clearly delineated but what I want to happen is to always have the volume behind the current view to be degraded, even as the volume rotates.I'm not sure this is possible and that's part of the problem, but more fundamentally I have not been able to find any solid information that describes how often Unity will fire a shader. What I mean is, does the shader PASS sections run constantly over and over, like the standard scripting Update block does, or does a shader and all of its passes only get fired once, and then only again if any of the material properties change?

If I presume for a moment that the shader only changes when some property is updated, and does not run on an update-like process, how might one update a rendered volume so that the quality from the middle to the back is of a lower quality than that of the front of the volume, but that also updates as the cube (or perhaps the camera) is rotated?