Search Unity

Games My Unity Journey - No more half measures!

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by Shack_Man, Jun 26, 2017.

1. Shack_Man

Shack_Man

I just started with Unity and would like to document my journey, I hope it is okay to put it in this forum. This is not about a single game but rather a blog of my attempt to make better (and bigger) games each time.

The Past:

About a year ago I discovered “Stencyl”, a game engine that caters to the absolute beginner, which I was at that time. I did just about every classic beginner mistake one could make, such as tackling projects that were way too big for me, or assuming my first game would naturally be a great success and the only question is whether to buy a boat or a jetski. It earned about 80 cents. Dreams were crushed and lessons learned, so I made some smaller Idle Games and uploaded them on Kongregate with some moderate success (most of it due to the games being Idle Games, they get high play numbers no matter the game). I was getting very close to finish my first strategy game, but after peeking at Unity several times, I decided to attempt the switch and eventually redo the game here.

Here is one of my games: http://www.kongregate.com/games/BambooHutGames/outsourced-hell

The Present:

While I am amazed by the new possibilities, I am equally frustrated. In Stencyl I can do almost anything I want, but in Unity I feel like my hands are tied and a sock has been stuffed in my mouth. Currently I am trying to just follow along tutorials, copy everything and take some hand written notes on what I've learned (the result being a bit messy but the writing down alone should help).

My art skills are still pretty bad, but given that last year the best I could draw was a smiley, I am somewhat content where I am right now. The goal is to draw really awesome cartoon characters, so that's still a long way to go.

The Future: