Search Unity

Multiple Shader Conflict

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by Predster, May 21, 2008.

1. Predster

Predster

I'm really new at shaders, so I'm not sure if I'm doing things correctly and am hoping for some help.

Right now, I have a model with 2 materials on it: 1 material using the bumped diffuse skin shader from the wiki, and the other material using the built-in specular shader. It looks wonderful on my iMac, but when I test it on a PC or on my macbook, I get the artifacts shown below. :x

From what I gather, there are multiple passes fighting with one another, and it must only show up on certain graphics cards. Is there any way to fix this? I'd like to use pixel lighting. Can I use multiple shaders/materials on a model or do I need to program one shader to do everything?

Thanks!

Attached Files:

2. cblarsen

cblarsen

Are you using two different shaders on polygons in the same exact position on the screen?
    If that is the case, then you have Z-buffer infighting, and you probably need to draw one of the shaders at an offset, so you are sure which one gets drawn first.

If you want to have two kinds of pixel lighting on the same polygon, you need to write a combined shader.
    But that might not be as hard as it sounds, if you use the "UsePass" command.

Or is the presence of material B affecting the rendering of polygons of material A. And the polygons are not overlapping?

3. Predster

Predster

Yeah, I'm using two different shaders on polygons in the same position. I wasn't sure if that would be problematic.

I'll have to try writing a combined shader. Just out of curiosity, can the same polygon have a pixel lit shader and vertex lit shader?

Thanks

4. bigkahuna

bigkahuna

5. Predster

Predster

Yup, but I was running windows on my mac via bootcamp and couldn't figure out the mac keyboard equivalent to the printscreen button :oops:

6. cblarsen

cblarsen