Search Unity

Multiplayer game using sockets

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Henry_V, Feb 23, 2017.

1. Henry_V

Henry_V

Hi guys! I'm i'm going to graduate this year and I'll have to make a graduation project so I was thinking to use unity, which I already more-or-less know (I have already made some games). This will be a two-players multiplayer game, and I was wondering how could I make the networking part work. Since this is a school project I'd rather not use networking tools which Unity provides, I would prefer to write myself lower level networking functions (maybe with sockets). I will have to sync positions of game objects in real-time (like one would do in a online fps). Should I use UDP? On which interval should I sync the objects' position? And how should I design the message passed between the clients?
    I'm completely new to networking programming (I only made a chat program with c# and TCP sockets, just for testing), so if you could answer those questions or if you had some advice about multiplayer programming patterns I would be very grateful :)
    Anyway, thank you for your time!

2. TheUKDude

TheUKDude

If you want to use sockets and the LLAPI then you will probably want to look up NetworkTransport which uses UDP, it seems that the LLAPI which uses Sockets is only UDP, I couldn't find any TCP for that library.

As far as I can see it does some stuff already out of the box behind the scenes, but just try the examples.
    Also once the client has connected to the server / other host anything you send with NetworkTransports.Send(...) will be flagged as DataEventType.

I have only played with it for the last few days and it seems very easy to get into, just a shame there isn't a better documentation of what it does itself so that we know what we don't need to add.

But overall it seems very good so far.