Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Moving player between pre-determined points.

Discussion in '2D' started by Gamesatan, May 28, 2017.

1. Gamesatan

Gamesatan

I posted this to unity answers a while ago, but after reading up on the "waitin for moderation" limbo i tought i might as well post my question here while waiting.

I'm new to unity and have some questions for you guys.

I'm creating a 2d game in which you move a rabbit between 3 lanes in order to avoid falling blocks. I already have a character with animation and collision standing on a sprite with a box collider that acts as ground.

So basically i would like to know how to move my rabbit left and right between 3 points using arrow keys. I found plenty of tutorials online in how to make a character move around, but nothing regarding this. Or maybe i just don't know what to google.

Here's a picture to further illustrate my problem since my english isn't the best. https://up.ppy.sh/files/721341236123145.png

2. methos5k

methos5k

In a scene like that with just the 3 spots on the ground, you might try having 3 small colliders/triggers (1 at each spot).
    Then, setting the velocity of the rigidbody to move with the right speed & in the desired direction, just use the collision/trigger to stop the character (set velocity to Vector3.zero). :)

3. Gamesatan

Gamesatan

Seems like a good idea, i'll look into that. This however raises a new questions.

I'was able to make my rabbit move left and right with GetKey and Vector3, but what i can't figure out is how to make him move indefinetly with a single keystroke, so that he would move until hitting the trigger.

Then i could just loop the walking animation while he moves and revert to idle when he hits a trigger.
    Does that make any sense?

4. methos5k

methos5k