Search Unity

Moving GameObjects, Calculating direction, cardinal coordinates

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by vegetamaker, Apr 17, 2017.

1. vegetamaker

vegetamaker

Hello! Again thanks so much for your help. I am still learning and practicing and I must admit that I can't advance without a little help. Or maybe alot, I am not sure.

Let me start explaining my actuals problem, but first a look for what I am trying to do, more or less:

Now let's start.

I did a static StartPosition and EndPosition just for not be totally stopped. And managed to do the movement for all my GameObject in the Update, but it isn't very smoother.

After it I did it in with a couritine thanks to other user that help me before.

Code (CSharp):
    2. IEnumerator ObjectMover(GameObject obj)
    3.     {
    4. float progress = 0;
    5.         while(progress < 1f)
    6.         {
    7.             progress += Time.deltaTime * speedItems;
    8.             obj.transform.position = Vector3.Lerp(startPosition, finishPosition, Mathf.Clamp(progress, 0, 1));
    9.             yield return null; //Wait until next frame to process again
    10.         }
    11.         Destroy(obj);
    12. }
    This code, effectively, move my GameObjects smoother, but with two problems: They "teleports" to a startPosition instead their first random position AND they arrives all at same time to the FinishPosition.

So, thinking from my novice knowledge, that they all arrive at same time is "progress" var faults AND that they "teleports" to startPosition is "Lerp" faults because it have a "startPosition".

So I did the next:
    Code (CSharp):
    2. IEnumerator ObjectMover(GameObject obj, Vector3 originalObjPosition)
    3.     {
    4. float fullDistance = Vector3.Distance (startPosition.transform.position, finishPosition.transform.position);
    5. float relativeDistance = Vector3.Distance (originalObjPosition, finishPosition.transform.position);