Search Unity

Mixing Unity with native OpenGL drawing on Android

Discussion in 'Android' started by A_M, May 3, 2012.

1. A_M

A_M

Hi! I'm fairly new to Unity, and find myself trying to do some fairly basic OpenGL drawing on top of the Unity viewport (using same GLSurfaceView) for an Android Only project. I have tried a couple methods I thought might work but am getting stuck, and would hugely appreciate any help anyone might have to offer.

I'm using Unity inside my Android Eclipse project, in basic accordance with the instructions in this thread:
    Integrating Unity and Eclipse

My first attempt was to simply extend UnityPlayer, and in my subclass override onSurfaceCreated, onSurfaceChanged and onDrawFrame, and in each first call the respective super...() method, and then calling through to a GLSurfaceView.Renderer where I use the static GLES20. I tried glClear(...) which was working fine, and using this method I can load shaders, setup my glVertexAttribPointers, but whenever I attempt to do any drawing I end up with the screen basically flickering between the Unity Splash screen and what appears to be the last rendered Unity frame.

I tried a couple things, like delaying the calls to my GLSurfaceView.Renderer until after Start() in my scene (thinking maybe Unity was destroying my GL setup code when it was doing it's loading), and also calling my Renderer's instead onDrawFrame from Unity's OnPostRender via an AndroidJavaObject like so:
    Code (csharp):
    1. GL.PushMatrix();
    2. AndroidJavaObject activity = mActivity;
    3. if(activity != null){
    4.     activity.Call ("onPostRender");
    5. }
    6. GL.PopMatrix();
    7. GL.InvalidateState();
    Neither of which appeared to make any differense.

Then I happened upon this page and thought "hey, maybe I'll try drawing from native code with the NDK instead.":
    Low-Level Native Plugin Interface

I basically modeled my code on that from the example linked to at the bottom of that page.