Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

maximum triangles or polygon count for the car in IOS Game

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by kapilkundan, Feb 25, 2011.

1. kapilkundan

kapilkundan

To make a 3d model of car maximum triangles or polygon count for the car in IOS Game. ??

2. Dreamora

Dreamora

try it out

there is no hard limit it depends on a plentitude of factors related to the rest of the stuff in the world and view etc

3. JamesArndt

JamesArndt

I thought I would throw in my two cents. I have been a Nintendo DS developer for a few years....I shipped out Need for Speed Undercover and NFS Nitro on the DS as well as Hot Wheels Track Attack on Wii and DS, so have a few car games under my belt (not bragging by any means, just want you to know the source of my knowledge) The DS is an inferior platform to the iPhone platform (even at the 3G level), so these limits should be a very safe zone for iPhone dev. We used (4) LODs....LOD0 was around 1200 triangles (garage model), LOD1 was around 600 triangles (Driveable vehicle), LOD2 sat around 300 triangles and LOD3 was around 150 tris. Now remember these were specs for most of our Nintendo DS car racing games. The DS was hard capped to render no more than 2000 triangles on screen for any given frame, after that a build would literally drop out rendering polygons. I believe the iPhone 3G had a kind of performance cap at around 7,000 triangles on screen as well. You have to consider how many vehicles will be on screen at any given time, how detailed of an environment you will have and other factors such as view culling, culling using the skydome, fog settings, etc. Sometimes things like inefficient code bog down frame rates worse than any art....but that's a whole nother story.