Search Unity

Match Making 1v1

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by dude4004, Mar 3, 2017.

1. dude4004

dude4004

Is there a Asset on Unity Store that provided a Match Making 1v1 where a server decide who are the 2 clients which will fight against each other by a ranking?

I don't want to pay Unity or Photon for licences.
    I want the 2x client to be hosted together and 1 server handle the match making.

If there is NO package that provide this, what is the best way to achieve this?

best regards,

2. Oakioats

Oakioats

I have not gotten into this. I am a beginner. What you want is a quick match right? It will do all the match making for you and pair you up with another folk. ya?

Have you checked out the lobby manager asset? If you dig in there it provides match making for you, but it does not account for quick matching. It does provide a list of servers which you can access and then perhaps access the player who is hosting the match variable/ranking number.

3. donnysobonny

donnysobonny

It's very unlikely you'll find a free service for this type of thing, if I understand you correctly. Matchmaking, as a concept, requires a server at minimum, because it needs to:
    • collect statistics on players to determine matches
    • know which players are connected/active or not
    • handle matchmaking requests
    So, there is always a server part to matchmaking and servers aren't free. The algorithms involved in matchmaking are also quite complex so the servers needed to handle matchmaking (especially for games with lots of players) often have to be quite powerful.

Unity's and photon's matchmaking services will do what you need though. Both have limited-free/trial/cheap options so that you can get started and start paying once you're actually (hopefully) making money.